Mexican Cream Cheese Rollups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I used this as a base recipe and incorporated/ omitted ingredients based on what I had on hand. Loved it!! After reading other reviews, I made it as follows: 2- 8 oz packages Neufchatel Cheese (which is 1/3 less fat cream cheese), 1/3 C Miracle Whip (for sweetness), 1/2 jar prepared mild salsa, 3 scallions, 12 chopped Kalamata olives, 1/3 chopped green pepper, 1/3 chopped red bell pepper (squeeze to release juice before adding to the mixing bowl), generous shakes of garlic powder and onion powder, scant amount dried oregano, generous shakes of dried parsely, 5-6 splashes Frank's Red Hot, zest of 1/2 small lemon. I used Boghosian Valley Bread brand tomato & basil wraps instead of tortillas (which I find a little gummy in texture when uncooked). These wraps have a fairly healthy ingredient list, have good flavor, a pliable, slightly chewy texture and are very large. They are good cooked or uncooked. Loved these apps. as I made them-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
This recipe was easy to make and it turned out really well. My husband loved them! I added some cheese and pepper for a little extra flavor and the were just wonderful. I only managed to spread it on 5 tortillas though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This was only ok.... used green chilies, and added a few tablespoons taco seasoning, but was still not "very lively" according to my boyfriend. We served this with a super delicious homemade salsa, but it didn't help too much. He said tortilla chips would have been better. He also mentioned adding some jalapenos might have helped. Thanks anyway...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
The only thing mexican about these is the tortillas and the salsa which do not add enough flavor to tip the scales in that direction. Otherwise the olives overpowered the general flavor and this turned out to be not very tasty at all. I brought them to a birthday party and everyone only had one or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This was a hit at my work superbowl party today. I added two Avacado's to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
These are tasty! I accidentally put the salsa in the mix and they were fantastic! It definitely affected the texture of the spread but once chilled it was okay. Thanks for an easy and yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Nothing special. I made these for a Mexican themed party and they were hardly touched. Follow others advice and add some spice to them. Otherwise they taste like cream cheese rolled up in a tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I also changed the recipe. Left out the green Olives, added Sour Cream instead of Mayo. added finely shredded cheddar and finely chopped green Onions before rolling them up. Have also made this dish and substituted Sliced Boiled Ham for the Tortilla; were a great hit at several parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtgraham2

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Added a few things...like garlic, cilantro and cheese, but all in all I thought it tasted terrific. Will make again!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I made these exactly as written, and they were good, but if I were to make them again, I would probably substitute sour cream for at least half of the mayonnaise, and maybe add a little seasoning to the mix. This seems like a good basic recipe that can be varied according to what you have on hand. Ideas: Cream cheese, sour cream, shredded cheddar, taco seasoning; Cream cheese, mayo, crumbled bacon, sun dried tomatoes; Cream cheese, pesto, chopped pine nuts; and on and on! :) You could even make a sweeter version (without the salsa side) ... cream cheese, a sprinkling of brown sugar, cinnamon and chopped berries ... dip in melted butter! OK, I'm stopping now ... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Gallagher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States