Mexican Cream Cheese Rollups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Not impressed at all. Served it as an appetizer over Thanksgiving weekend and again for Monday night football. Thought it might be just too much food to choose from during Thanksgiving, but both times, 3/4's of this recipe sat while everything else was devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
Tasted too "mayonaissey" to me. Would be better to thin the cream cheese with just the salsa, and leave out the mayonnaise. One tip that makes the tortillas easier to roll is to heat each tortilla in the microwave for 30 seconds before spreading filling. It softens them up and makes it easier to roll them tight. (Out-of-the-fridge, stiff tortillas leave a hole in the center when you roll them.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
Awesome! I, too, changed the recipe some. I used green chilis rather than green olives and I added a bit of minced garlic and just enough cayenne pepper to give it a tiny bite. I tripled the recipe and took them to the tavern we own for an appetizer. Even the guys were asking for the recipe! It was nice because I could pull them out of the fridge and slice them for serving as I needed them. I thought the longer they were in the fridge, the better they tasted. Habit forming! I will definitely use this recipe a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
I really have no complaint about the recipe, as submitted. However, I was happily able to reduce calories from 428, per serving, to 183.5. And, reduced sodium content from 900mg to 192mg, per serving. [I substituted sour cream for the mayonnaise. I omitted the green olives and substituted 1/2 cup chopped red and/or green bell pepper.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
This recipe is very easy and is sure to please! The recipe calls for eight 10" tortillas--when I made it, I spread the filling just thick enough to cover each tortilla, yet the mixture only covered four tortillas. So if you really need to make eight tortillas' worth, you might consider making a larger batch. I made the filling a day in advance and refrigerated it overnight to allow the flavors to blend--yummy!--then softened it in the microwave for 4 minutes at 20% power.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarrieHansen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
I brought these to work today. They were gone in less than 30 min! I omitted the mayo and added salsa and shredded cheese. Great! Next time I'll double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I made these to take to a party and most everyone enjoyed them. They make a very pretty presentation if you add chopped parsley, and slice them on the diagonal. Depending on your taste, you can omit different ingredients; I have never used olives and they still turn out great. You can also use different flavors of tortillas; spinach (green) and tomato (red) would look festive for Christmas! UPDATE: I continue to take this appetizer to parties and ALWAYS receive compliments. It is just so easy, tasty, and pretty. Serve with salsa and you have a great appy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
Wonderful taste! Made these to bring to a friend's house and received many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This is a recipe that you can easily alter to suit your tastes. I omitted the black olives but added a small can of green chile peppers, 1/4c diced red peppers and 3-blend taco cheese (and a little more of it). Tasty without dipping in salsa! HMMMM good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
this is a great base recipe. You can add a shake or two of garlic powder and some cilantro for a nice zesty taste and seven serve it as a dip for crackers (hearty ones...the ritz type crumble too easy.)).... NOTE: for ease in spreading microwave the cream cheese before adding ingred. for about 20-45 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Cream Cheese Arepas

See how to make beautiful cream cheese breakfast arepas.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States