Mexican Cornbread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I made this twice for family events. Everyone liked it both times but being from Texas, everyone said it needed to be spicier the first time so here's what I did. I switched the regular corn to Mexi corn (has red and green bell peppers in it). I used the hot green chili peppers instead of the mild. I added a teaspoon of cumin to the ranch salad dressing. We all liked it even better the second time (with the extra spice). Next time I make it I'm going to use pico de gallo (chunky salsa) instead of just straight tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bertram, Texas, USA
Living In: Spicewood, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
EXCELLENT! Serves 12 easily. I prefer making the ranch dressing from the package as the dressing is very important to the salad. I used 1 package Ranch dressing, 1 cup mayo and 1 cup sour cream. Also added a bit of cumin,oregano and chili powder. Try different cheeses...Monteray Jack and mild cheddar are nice. I prefer making this the day before as all the flavors blend. You'll get raves from this easy, colorful and scrumptious salad. A big winner in my book!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
Great recipe! Very different. It tastes better if you make it a day ahead. Also, the recipe says it's for 6 servings but it's more like for 12-15. Unless you are feeding a big crowd, I would cut this back by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This was a hit at our Labor Day BBQ. I added layers of sliced black olives and used the Sour Cream Dressing recipe on this site in place of the bottled dressing. It looks beautiful and festive in a trifle bowl and is definitely not your ordinary salad. Awesome recipe, Jose! Thx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
I found a similar recipe to this in Southern Living magazine last summer. I added teh chiles TO the corn bread mix along w/ a little taco seasoning to make a mexican corn bread. I also used 1 can black beans instead of pinto, layered w/ romaine lettuce, real bacon instead of the bits and use Montery Jack cheese instead of plain cheddar. Overall this is a great salad that you can adjust to your own liking! It does make a huge bowl, so make sure you've got plenty to eat it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
Gosh...What can I say about a recipe that has had everyone that I have EVER served it too flippin' out? Not enough, apparently. This salad is FANTASTIC and I have made it over 6 times for different occasions. I HIGHLY reccommend that you try this and have some fun with it. Some substitutions I have made are using differnet Ranch dressings (a spicy Texas ranch was a HUGE hit) plus I've changed the beans from pinto to black beans, I've changed the cheese. It's very flexible, so have fun! Really, though...it's FABULOUS! make it, make it, make it!!! Oh yeah, also I make/serve it on a really big colorful platter, and garnish it with a red or green jalapeno pepper.ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
This was a hit at a recent get-together! I used Kraft Cilantro Pepper flavored Ranch dressing that I think made it even better. The bacon bits aren't really necessary for this dish to work! Try this recipe...it's easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: China Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I have taken this to several potlucks and it is always a hit. I agree that it makes a bunch, so I just make half the recipe for small gatherings (15 people or less) and I just use a box of Jiffy cornbread. To make it quick, I use canned, diced tomatoes w/ roasted garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Earlville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Excellent. I added a head of romaine lettuce and omitted the bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2000
It's a great salad to make ahead! It holds well for several days in the refrigerator. Also, a great way to use up any leftover cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States