Mexican Cornbread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
This was absolutely disgusting. Everyone in my family hated it, as did my best friend's family. It looks pretty, but the taste is awful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Loved it! I only wish that I would have used cornbread mix that didn't have sugar in it. Sweet cornbread just didn't go well. I added a Mexican flavor to the corn by stirring in 1 tsp. cumin, 1/2 tsp. chili powder, and 1/4 tsp. ground oregano before adding to the layers. Loved the flavor! Now for the dressing - it calls for 1 - 8 oz. bottle. 8 oz. = 1 cup, so when the recipe says to add 1 cup dressing, there isn't any leftover for the second layer! Be sure and buy 2 - 8 oz. bottles (or 1 - 16 oz. bottle). I agree with the other reviewers to be sure and add lots of dressing, or it will be too dry. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Excellent. I added a head of romaine lettuce and omitted the bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
Colorful, Delicious, people just can't get enough of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
EXCELLENT! Serves 12 easily. I prefer making the ranch dressing from the package as the dressing is very important to the salad. I used 1 package Ranch dressing, 1 cup mayo and 1 cup sour cream. Also added a bit of cumin,oregano and chili powder. Try different cheeses...Monteray Jack and mild cheddar are nice. I prefer making this the day before as all the flavors blend. You'll get raves from this easy, colorful and scrumptious salad. A big winner in my book!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
This was a good recipe, a nice change from the usual summer salads. I had to use a lot more salad dressing than recommended, and it was still a bit dry. This makes a huge bowl; I had 12 people over for lunch, everyone enjoyed it, but I still had leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
I wasn't thrilled with this, but the people at the picnic thought it was good. I'll keep looking for "that special picnic recipe".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
I just made this for the 4th holiday and it was fantastic! I too was hesitant due to the combination of ingredients, but I felt adventuresome. And it paid off! I cut the recipe in half since there's only two of us, and there's still plenty leftover. (Which we will certainly enjoy today!) I used black beans instead of pinto. I also used the little grape tomatoes, red and green pepper, and sharp cheddar cheese. I will definetly make this the next time I need to take a dish somewhere. A++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
Loved it! Had to 'customize' for our family - no beans, no bacon, but it was fabulous just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
This was absolutely delicious. Everyone was hesistant to try this at first because of the combination of ingredients, but after tasting it got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Mexican Bean Salad

This authentic salad is bright with colors and complex flavors.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States