Mexican Cornbread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I take this salad to all our family events. It makes a lot and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I have taken this to several potlucks and it is always a hit. I agree that it makes a bunch, so I just make half the recipe for small gatherings (15 people or less) and I just use a box of Jiffy cornbread. To make it quick, I use canned, diced tomatoes w/ roasted garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Earlville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This was a hit at our Labor Day BBQ. I added layers of sliced black olives and used the Sour Cream Dressing recipe on this site in place of the bottled dressing. It looks beautiful and festive in a trifle bowl and is definitely not your ordinary salad. Awesome recipe, Jose! Thx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
This was an excellent summer salad. Adults and kids both gobbled down second servings of this. Makes enough servings for a family to enjoy for several days or to bring to a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Good tasting. Makes many more that 6 servings. I was considerering doubling the recipe as I was expecting many people, but glad I didn't. It made a huge bowl that yielded at least 15 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
This recipe has been ahit every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
I found a similar recipe to this in Southern Living magazine last summer. I added teh chiles TO the corn bread mix along w/ a little taco seasoning to make a mexican corn bread. I also used 1 can black beans instead of pinto, layered w/ romaine lettuce, real bacon instead of the bits and use Montery Jack cheese instead of plain cheddar. Overall this is a great salad that you can adjust to your own liking! It does make a huge bowl, so make sure you've got plenty to eat it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I made this twice for family events. Everyone liked it both times but being from Texas, everyone said it needed to be spicier the first time so here's what I did. I switched the regular corn to Mexi corn (has red and green bell peppers in it). I used the hot green chili peppers instead of the mild. I added a teaspoon of cumin to the ranch salad dressing. We all liked it even better the second time (with the extra spice). Next time I make it I'm going to use pico de gallo (chunky salsa) instead of just straight tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bertram, Texas, USA
Living In: Spicewood, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
I usually make this to take to cookouts. It has been a big hit everytime. I always get asked for the recipe. I use a 16 oz. bottle of Ranch Dressing instead of 8 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
We love this recipe. Definately make the day before to let flavors mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States