Mexican Cornbread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I took this salad to a Fourth of July cookout. Everyone loved it! Passed out the recipe as soon as I could get it written down! I did make 2 easy, but delicious changes, as suggested previously: black beans instead of pinto, and a 16oz. bottle of Spicey Ranch dressing. Just the kick it needed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I would have given this recipe 5 stars but, we do not care for ranch dressing. Instead, I used my version of a mexican dressing (this is great on taco salad). One third each of water, EEVO, & apple cider vinegar, along w/one packet of taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
i used this at a mexican buffet and people raved!!!many came back for seconds i was very pleased thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TNEKARA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I had leftover cornbread from Easter, so this was perfect! I did use the advice given by other users and double my ranch dressing. I added the cumin , a little salt/pepper,garlic powder and about 1/4 cup of milk to make the consistency easier to moisten the cornbread. I had leftover chicken so I put it in my dicer and added a layer of this before the bacon. We love lettuce so I did chop some and put in under the corn layer. It was ***** stars all the way! My better half tried it (not to his will) and absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grenada, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Great salad! Makes a beautiful presentation layered in a clear glass bowl. Would be a wonderful salad for potluck event. Will keep this recipe handy. I cut down on the corn and beans. Used only one can of each and had plenty. I used regular ranch for the dressing but might try a chipotle ranch next for more of a tex-mex spin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Interesting twist for a new salad - took to a staff meeting and we ate the whole 9x13 pan. Made as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
my family's favorite for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This was ok. Not sure if I'll make it again. Didn't leave a lasting impression.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
This is the best Cornbread Salad. I have had to share this recipe with several of my friends. Thanks to Jose for sharing this. My father in law is your biggest fan. I have to make it everytime I see him now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
When I found this recipe I didn't even think twice about making it. I knew I would love it. I love everything in it, it was rated well, so why wouldn't I like it, right? Well, I didn't. It was just weird for me. I even tasted it the next day since it has been said that it tastes better the next day. Nope. It sounds weird, but it had a mustard like taste after sitting overnight. I made it for a group and did get compliments. One guy loved it so much that I gave most of it to take home. Needless to say, I was very disappointed after having such high hopes for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FREAKITIKI97

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States