Mexican Cornbread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This is an awesome recipe for family BBQ's, picnics or backyard parties. I have only made it once for a party and at least 10 people asked me for the recipe. I added taco seasoning and fresh jalapenos to the corn bread, added cumin and oregano to the corn and subbed red pepper for the green. I followed the recipe and it made a LOT of salad. Perfect for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Love it..great for pot lucks. Everyone wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Everyone loved this salad- even my husband who is never a fan of things like this. I made the mistake of blending it all together right before we served it. It probably would have "Looked" better had I left it in the layers in the bowl. But it was still very yummy! I used the Spicy Ranch and added Cilantro, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Wonderful! I cut all ingredients in 1/2 and it still served at least 6. I layered it in a trifle dish and got lots of compliments. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
this is a very tasty recipe, there is an error in the amounts though, just want to clarify it for others: you need a 16oz bottle of ranch dressing, as according to the recipe you need 2 cups of dressing. Definitely add the cumin, and I added sliced olives as a layer too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by buttercup2746
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Made this over the weekend for my hubby and he absolutely loved it. I left out the bacon bits and also forgot to add the green chiles to the cornbread mix so I added them as a layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buttercup2746

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I used kidney beans and red onions because that is what I had on hand. Yummm... One of my favorite salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
When I came across this recipe and saw the ingredients list, then saw the outstanding reviews, I couldn't understand what could be so good about this dish. I also knew that I needed to try it, since I had everything I needed to make it in my pantry. Well, it's FANTASTIC! Such a nice mix of flavors and textures. The only thing I left out was the bacon, and I subbed diced red bell pepper for the green. It really is a 5-star recipe, and one that I'll make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 92DORE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Delicious! I will make this time and again! As others have said, this makes way more than 6 servings and I only made one layer of each ingrediant! The only thing I would change is instead of tomatoes, I might try salsa to add a little more kick. Otherwise perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
This is one of my standby summer recipes. It always gets rave reviews. Don't be fooled by the number of servings though - this will feed a crowd. The only alteration I would suggest is instead of 2 cans of pinto beans, I use 1 can of pinto and 1 can of black beans - I mix all the beans together during rinsing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUASHBLOSSOMGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States