Mexican Cornbread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I gave this recipe 4 stars because I think that the original would be a tad too bland. I made some improvements per others' suggestions, and I was very pleased! I added a jalapeno to the cornbread, used spicy ranch dressing, and substituted a taco cheese blend for regular cheddar. Even after these changes plus adding some cumin and chile powder between the layers, I found it could be a little spicier. I will definitely make this again, but I will be more generous with my spices. Everyone raved about this at a friend's dinner, and the hostess told me this recipe was a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
this salad was SO good! i accidentally left out the green onions and bacon bits, but it still tasted wonderful! i might use some black beans next time too. i think they would add a fun flavor to it. a few of my friends read the recipe and were skeptical, but they loved the salad after they tasted it. i cant wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princeslani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made my own cornbread from a recipe on here (which ended up being way to bread-like but mixed with everything in the salad wasn't too bad). I would definitely NOT use so much Ranch dressing next time. I'd cut it down to a third of the amount listed. It was just WAY too much and overpowering. I was surprised that even the next day the cornbread wasn't soggy. That was a nice surprise. Also, this makes A LOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Crazy yummy!! I used Marie's Chipolte Ranch dressing and used cubanel peppers instead of bell peppers. It makes a beautiful presentation, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I hosted a dinner party of 9 and made a big pot of tortilla soup for the main course. I thought this salad would go nicely with it because of the title "Mexican". It was tasty but I was disappointed that it did not even remotely taste Mexican. I could not even taste the green chiles that were baked in the cornbread. I upped the green onions to 4 and used 1 can of black beans instead of pinto. If I make it again I will spice up the ranch dressing with chile powder and perhaps use a chunky salsa in place of the tomatoes. Might even sub taco meat for the bacon. With these changes this salad would live up to it's name. Made as is it's just Cornbread Salad IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is amazing!! I made modifications but still give it 5 stars. I used spicy ranch drsg, hearts of romaine (I don't like green pepper), omitted bacon bits and used 1/2 purple onion instead of green onion. I actually made 2 batches.. just one layer of each of everything in a 9x13 pan. One with black beans and dusted it with cumin, garlic powder and chili powder halfway through layering. The other was with pinto beans and I also spread it with my homemade salsa. Took them both to work and they demolished the whole pan with the salsa in it and half of the other! The next shift took care of the other half. Have had numerous requests for the recipe after just making it once. Thank you for this awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathy1166

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I made this for my annual block party and it was delicious! I didn't change a thing and got nothing but rave reviews from everyone and recipe requests. Will definitely make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This was good. Instead of the ranch dressing, I used a ranch salsa mix, and only sprinkled some of it on it, and served the rest on the side. I also used fresh corn on the cob. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie Ann Yost May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CGG
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
Everyone loved this salad. I cut the recipe in half and still had a big salad. Nice flavors that got better every day. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CGG

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This was absolutely wonderful. I divided it in half when preparing and I took it to two different parties. Everyone loved it and I have had several requests for the recipe. This will be a staple at my parties from now on. Thanksfor sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Mason

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States