Mexican Cornbread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I made this twice for family events. Everyone liked it both times but being from Texas, everyone said it needed to be spicier the first time so here's what I did. I switched the regular corn to Mexi corn (has red and green bell peppers in it). I used the hot green chili peppers instead of the mild. I added a teaspoon of cumin to the ranch salad dressing. We all liked it even better the second time (with the extra spice). Next time I make it I'm going to use pico de gallo (chunky salsa) instead of just straight tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bertram, Texas, USA
Living In: Spicewood, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
I usually make this to take to cookouts. It has been a big hit everytime. I always get asked for the recipe. I use a 16 oz. bottle of Ranch Dressing instead of 8 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
We love this recipe. Definately make the day before to let flavors mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
This was a delicious salad. It definitely serves more than six, also I used a 16 ounce bottle of salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
This was a hit at a recent get-together! I used Kraft Cilantro Pepper flavored Ranch dressing that I think made it even better. The bacon bits aren't really necessary for this dish to work! Try this recipe...it's easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: China Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This was a bit of work and was not all that popular with my co-workers at our summer potluck. It was very pretty to look at it, and one or two enjoyed it, but it made a lot and I threw almost half of it away. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
Great recipe! Very different. It tastes better if you make it a day ahead. Also, the recipe says it's for 6 servings but it's more like for 12-15. Unless you are feeding a big crowd, I would cut this back by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
This was absolutely disgusting. Everyone in my family hated it, as did my best friend's family. It looks pretty, but the taste is awful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Loved it! I only wish that I would have used cornbread mix that didn't have sugar in it. Sweet cornbread just didn't go well. I added a Mexican flavor to the corn by stirring in 1 tsp. cumin, 1/2 tsp. chili powder, and 1/4 tsp. ground oregano before adding to the layers. Loved the flavor! Now for the dressing - it calls for 1 - 8 oz. bottle. 8 oz. = 1 cup, so when the recipe says to add 1 cup dressing, there isn't any leftover for the second layer! Be sure and buy 2 - 8 oz. bottles (or 1 - 16 oz. bottle). I agree with the other reviewers to be sure and add lots of dressing, or it will be too dry. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Excellent. I added a head of romaine lettuce and omitted the bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States