Mexican Cornbread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Served for a luncheon and everyone absolutely loved it and asked for the recipe. Used black beans instead of pinto and 16 oz. bottle of ranch dressing. Be aware that this is WAY more than 6 servings--fills a very large party bowl and can easily serve 12-15, if not more. I would also try and make the cornbread a bit more moist next time, maybe by adding some creamed corn and/or extra milk when baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I took this salad to a Fourth of July cookout. Everyone loved it! Passed out the recipe as soon as I could get it written down! I did make 2 easy, but delicious changes, as suggested previously: black beans instead of pinto, and a 16oz. bottle of Spicey Ranch dressing. Just the kick it needed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I would have given this recipe 5 stars but, we do not care for ranch dressing. Instead, I used my version of a mexican dressing (this is great on taco salad). One third each of water, EEVO, & apple cider vinegar, along w/one packet of taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
i used this at a mexican buffet and people raved!!!many came back for seconds i was very pleased thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TNEKARA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I had leftover cornbread from Easter, so this was perfect! I did use the advice given by other users and double my ranch dressing. I added the cumin , a little salt/pepper,garlic powder and about 1/4 cup of milk to make the consistency easier to moisten the cornbread. I had leftover chicken so I put it in my dicer and added a layer of this before the bacon. We love lettuce so I did chop some and put in under the corn layer. It was ***** stars all the way! My better half tried it (not to his will) and absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grenada, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Great salad! Makes a beautiful presentation layered in a clear glass bowl. Would be a wonderful salad for potluck event. Will keep this recipe handy. I cut down on the corn and beans. Used only one can of each and had plenty. I used regular ranch for the dressing but might try a chipotle ranch next for more of a tex-mex spin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Interesting twist for a new salad - took to a staff meeting and we ate the whole 9x13 pan. Made as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
my family's favorite for years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This was ok. Not sure if I'll make it again. Didn't leave a lasting impression.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
This is the best Cornbread Salad. I have had to share this recipe with several of my friends. Thanks to Jose for sharing this. My father in law is your biggest fan. I have to make it everytime I see him now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States