Mexican Cornbread Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
EXCELLENT! Serves 12 easily. I prefer making the ranch dressing from the package as the dressing is very important to the salad. I used 1 package Ranch dressing, 1 cup mayo and 1 cup sour cream. Also added a bit of cumin,oregano and chili powder. Try different cheeses...Monteray Jack and mild cheddar are nice. I prefer making this the day before as all the flavors blend. You'll get raves from this easy, colorful and scrumptious salad. A big winner in my book!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
This was a good recipe, a nice change from the usual summer salads. I had to use a lot more salad dressing than recommended, and it was still a bit dry. This makes a huge bowl; I had 12 people over for lunch, everyone enjoyed it, but I still had leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
I wasn't thrilled with this, but the people at the picnic thought it was good. I'll keep looking for "that special picnic recipe".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
I just made this for the 4th holiday and it was fantastic! I too was hesitant due to the combination of ingredients, but I felt adventuresome. And it paid off! I cut the recipe in half since there's only two of us, and there's still plenty leftover. (Which we will certainly enjoy today!) I used black beans instead of pinto. I also used the little grape tomatoes, red and green pepper, and sharp cheddar cheese. I will definetly make this the next time I need to take a dish somewhere. A++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
Loved it! Had to 'customize' for our family - no beans, no bacon, but it was fabulous just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
This was absolutely delicious. Everyone was hesistant to try this at first because of the combination of ingredients, but after tasting it got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
I loved this recipe - it will be great for the summer and can't wait to share it with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
This recipe creates a beautiful and delicious salad. The only thing that I will do differently next time, is add more ranch dressing. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
Very good, but mine was a little dry. Next time, I am going to add a little mayonnaise to the ranch dressing and put it on top of the crumbled cornbread before I add the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
Gosh...What can I say about a recipe that has had everyone that I have EVER served it too flippin' out? Not enough, apparently. This salad is FANTASTIC and I have made it over 6 times for different occasions. I HIGHLY reccommend that you try this and have some fun with it. Some substitutions I have made are using differnet Ranch dressings (a spicy Texas ranch was a HUGE hit) plus I've changed the beans from pinto to black beans, I've changed the cheese. It's very flexible, so have fun! Really, though...it's FABULOUS! make it, make it, make it!!! Oh yeah, also I make/serve it on a really big colorful platter, and garnish it with a red or green jalapeno pepper.ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States