Mexican Cornbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Very good recipe. It's easy and everyone likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This is not a bad recipe, it is just ordinary. I couldn't even taste the green chiles in it. I did have to figure out how to substitute for self-rising cornmeal, because my local grocery doesn't carry it, even though it is a major chain. For others who can't find it, the 8.5 oz. package works out to about 1-1/2 cups, to which you need to add 3-3/4 teaspoons of baking powder. I will be going back to the other recipe I have been using. Wish this would have worked out better, because I really like green chiles in my corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
For those who ended up with soggy, mushy cornbread, you may have added too much cream-style corn. The recipe calls for an 8 oz. can, which I've never seen in the stores. I've always bought a 14 oz. can. I used approximately half of a 14 oz. can. I also used a Jiffy corn muffin mix, which happens to weigh 8.5 oz. I believe that this is what the recipe submitter intended since the directions mentions cornmeal mix. I followed the directions on the back of the package (1/3 cup milk and 1 egg) and then added the corn, pepper-Jack cheese, and green chiles. 1/2 cup of milk would be too much. No added sugar needed if using the Jiffy mix since it is plenty sweet. Moist but still able to eat with hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I gave this recipe a 3 star because of the final consistency at the end. It wasn't very cornbread-like which is what I was looking for. I did use the Jiffy Corn Muffin mix and used jalapenos instead of green chiles. I think next time I will use regular corn rather than creamed corn. I think the creamed corn made it too mushy. Other than that I liked the recipe and plan to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
We just finished trying this wonderful bread. I too thought it was like a cornbread pudding, but I realized I used a 14.75 ounce can of cream corn. Next time I will make it with the right amount of cream corn, 8 ounces. We still loved the flavor but we had to eat it with a fork. I added a teaspoon of pimentos and used fresh jalapenos. It looked Christmasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Very Easy and good. I used a box of Jiffy corn bread and followed rest of recipe. Baked in a 11 x 7 pan for about 35 min. Turned perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was very good, served w/chili. Would recommend to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I loved this cornbread. I used pepper/jack cheese to give it a little kick. You will probally have to shread it yourself, but it is worth it. I also added about tablespoon of sugar. Easy and good. I did not use Jiffy, I just used 1 1/2 cups of self rising yellow corn mill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Delicious!! I used a box of Jffy Corn Bread and then added the Cream corn and Jack Cheese. I also added 1/4 C sugar to make it a little sweeter. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious! It is a very heavy cornbread, just how I like it. It was also very easy. I will certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States