Mexican Cornbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I've made this three times to rave reviews. I followed the advise of others and left out the milk, and I did not drain the chilies. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaxMom
Home Town: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This was sooo tasty! The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 was it seemed a little too moist for cornbread. I will have to try it again and add extra corn meal and see if it lightens up. We served it with a black bean soup and it was soooo good dipped in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Sachse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I used the Jiffy mix and followed the directions on the box. I then added whole corn (didn't have creamed style) about 1/2 cup, some fresh jalapenos and shredded cheese that has taco seasoning. Super easy. Super cheap. Super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
very disappointed .. taste was OK but the texture of the cornbread was WAY TOO "WET". I think I will stick with the regular cornbread. Texture was more like a "HOT PUDDING" instead of cornbread. I will not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
So easy and a great twist on cornbread, especially if you're serving chili or soup. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I doubled the recipe, but after reading the direction on the cornbread muffin/bread mix, I was concerned the batter would be too runny so changed it slightly by reducing the milk to 2/3c. I also, substituted a 12oz can of whole corn for the creamed corn. The texture and flavor was great. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This is a recipe that will frequently appear alongside chili in our home. It was very simple to make and the results are wonderful. It is not crumbly, as you would expect with regular cornbread, because the creamed corn makes it soft...almost like a slightly spicy spoonbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was the tastiest corn bread I've ever made. Have been in search of an easy, moist cornbread for years and finally found it. Normally don't like to use boxed mixes, but happened to have a Jiffy mix on hand so it worked out great. Will keep this on hand for future use. Thanks Bea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This was really easy to make and tasted very good. The only issue is mine came out more like corn pudding than corn bread. Next time I will add another 5-10 minutes to baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Yummy and it turned out very moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Cagle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States