Mexican Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
You've done it again! Another great recipe. I made it using the adjusted suggestions, so half the butter and the sugar. I added a tiny amount of coloured peppers for presentation. Dang, it's good. I can't imagine this lasting too long around here...oh and I used jalapeno cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
i always serve w/ SOUTHWEST MEATLOAF
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
MMMMMMMMMMMMMMM good! made just like it is written no complaints from me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
THe BEST !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Very very tasty. Will definitely do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
i hate giving bad reviews but this time its warranted! i make alot of cornbread its probably the one thing i never mess up. this came out really eggy and theres way too much cheese in it and i reduced it by a cup. 3 cups is alot. i liked that this recipe wasnt too sweet but it lacked a punch which i would expect from mexican cornbread. i think half the corn would be better. wet and eggy and not spicy is exactly how id describe this. i did make it in a cast iron skillet that i sprayed and then got hot in my oven before pouring the batter in. this is a southern trick and gives a nice crust to the cornbread. sorry i just didnt care for this. if i made this again id reduce the cream corn, use only 1 egg, and use 2 cups cheese and add something maybe taco seasoning or picante sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
i just finished having this with homemade vegetable beef soup. i went by the recipe except i used chopped green chilies in place of green pepper b/c i didn't have any. put 3 tbsp melted butter into batter and a tablespoon of sugar. wonderful! its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Garner Sullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Good basic recipe but needed a bit of tweaking. I added drained whole kernel corn and 1/2 c. milk to compensate, I also added 1 c. pepper jack cheese, 1 c. taco cheese, and 1 c. sharp cheddar. I also threw in a jalapeno with the green chiles. I served it that night with carne asada with lime and refried beans, and spicy spanish rice. It was out of this world. I did only give it 3 stars because I had to tweak the recipe to give it more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I put regular breakfast sausage instead of ground beef to give a little more spice. I had regular corn meal but found I didn't have any baking soda. I did have a package cornbread mix which has the salt and baking soda in it. So I used it instead. Other than the sausage I followed the rest of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Good recipe! I used fresh corn, doubled the milk to compensate for the lack of jucie in the creamed corn. I also used 2 C of shredded cheese and about 5 slices of crumbled pepperjack. Very good and cheesey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States