Mexican Cornbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This is really a great combination of ingredients. I used stone ground cornmeal and unbleached, sifted flour, and added 2 tsp. baking soda + 3/4 tsp. salt. I just could not used creamed corn because of the unhealthy level of sugar and starch, so used plain canned corn, fully drained. I should have increased the milk to compensate for this since the end result was a bit too dry. I replaced onion with onion juice, reduced the cheese by half cup (using a blend of four cheeses, generally called "Mexican" and purchased shredded), used an entire 4 oz. can of green chilies with the juice, and added two tsp. of Xylitol (natural alcohol sugar lower in calories, made from birch). It was eaten up in a jiffy, but I wish it had been a tad more moist. The defect was my own fault, though. This bread would go nicely with salsa. It was a perfect companion to a spicey Mexican chicken/bean soup, green salad and room temperature mango nectar. Thanks for a nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUDDYMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Awesome!!! I used a green onion, 1 jalapeno pepper and about a tablespoon of the jalapeno juice for a little added kick. It was so good that my husband had 2 pieces eaten before we ever sat down to supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janine
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
My husband and I absolutely loved this cornbread! So moist! So delicious! And so attractive in the pan! The only change I plan to make the next time I make this is to add a bit more chile peppers to really kick it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Being from the South, We like our cornbread unsweetened (as Emeril will tell you) We like mexican cornbread, not cupcakes.. This recipe is one of the best we've ever tried..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Big hit. Everybody loved it and it was very easy to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
This was pretty good. When I make Mexican cornbread I brown ground beef and mix it with taco seasoning. I then put it into a baking dish and top with the cornbread and bake according to the directions for cornbread. It's a meal then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2004
My husband and I really enjoyed this cornbread with Taco Soup. I didn't have sef-rising cornmeal so I used regular cornmeal and added salt and baking powder. I also used 1 1/2 cups shredded Pepper Jack cheese and 1 1/2 cups shredded Mexican Style cheese. I added 4 oz. can chopped green chiles. The cornbread was moist. I'll cook this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
I couldn't find Self-Rising Cornmeal, so I bought the regular and added 1t Baking Soda & a little salt. Also, I used 2C Shredded Cheddar instead of 3C. Both adjustments worked out fine, BUT, this bread was REALLY to MOIST for my liking. The flavor was WONDERFUL, but definately cooked it longer (hoping it would dry out) than what the directions said. I did bake this to go with the White Chili with Ground Turkey (also on this site) and it was DELICIOUS! What I did was break up the this corn bread into the Chili so you couldn't see/feel how moist this was, and between the two dishes and there flavors, everyone ooooo'd & ahhhhhh'd at the table. I do think, next time I'll try regular corn instead of creamed, but I'll definately try this again with that alteration. If you bake this with the other receipe - cook this one first - by the time this is done, so isn't the chili - perfect timing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
I used spanish-style egg beaters with peppers and onions which gave it a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
This was so moist. I was alittle leary of the green chiles, so I only put 1 teaspoon in it but they were not hot, as I expected. The chiles did add a slight mexican flavor to it.It was raved about at our mexican pot luck at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States