Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Very, very good recipe for fresh corn! I had this twice at parties before deciding that I had to learn how to make it on my own :o) I did use other reviewers recommendations (the most popular ones) and used parmesan cheese just because I already had it and didn't want to buy the cotija cheese just for this recipe. So yummy! I'll use this one again many times. Thank you! Oh yeah, I did leave the corn in the husk after cleaning off the silks so I wouldn't have to worry about burning/charring it too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Almost always make our corn-on-the-cob like this! My brother-in-law won't eat it any other way! Can easily substitute parmesan or romano for the cotija & I set out a shaker of chile con limon. For a relative w/ dentures I just remove the ears of corn from the stalk & mix everything to gether in a bowl. Kind of addictive actually!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This is a good recipe-- I personally love Elotes. But if you want it to be authentic, use mayo con limon. This is what hispanics normally use. It adds a very light citrus twist to it. So this is how we make it in my home, cook the corn shucked, spread mayo con limon (mayonnaise with lime), roll in cotija cheese, and spread a little ketchup on it. That is how you normally see it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chulablanca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
We first learned about eating corn this way at a church fair. Now I have the exact, and simple directions. We so enjoyed it last night with the new bumper crop of corn this year!!!Thank you for sharing! ***Oh you don't have to use grilled corn, boiled/simmered works fine! The cheese is now found in most grocery stores, found ours at a Walmart Supercenter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Definitely will grill corn this way every time - I put the butter & mayo on before grilling - added spice mixture and then grilled - made a nice crust on the corn - big hit with everyone - the lime is a must at the end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullfrog270

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Made this tonight with a mexican feast for guests. They all LOVED it.......wish I made more!!!! Although I did forget the lime!!! Bet it's even better with it. Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigette aka Wine Snob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Nice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I agree on the cheese while one store might not have it it's not that hard to find. I found it this time at Sprouts last time at safeway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Delicious. Don't skip the lime and make sure you use cotija cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
For those that have settled for parmesan chesse as a replacement to Cojita cheese, what a shame. This recipe AS IS does not need tweaking, modifying or any overhaul whatsoever. I tried the parmesan cheese method because I did not have all the ingredients, and at the time it deserved a very good rating, until I got my lazy butt to the store and got Coitja cheese. I finally made the real deal and the parmesan cheese method was instantly downgraded to OK. Make this corn as is and I guarantee you will be the gourmet griller you sought out to be. Cotija cheese all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackapronchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I added cayenne pepper and used parmesan cheese and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States