Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I love corn on the cob fixed this way. It's important to use Cotija cheese...we tried Parmesan once and it was just not the same. I do use a shortcut, though. I buy "Mayonesa" brand mayonnaise...it already has the lime in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This recipe is only the starting point: I strongly suggest that you follow the recipe that SKHOUSTO shared in her review...it is definitely 5 star! It bears repeating: 3 tablespoons fat-free mayonnaise 2 teaspoons fresh lime juice 2 tablespoons finely grated Parmesan cheese 1/2 teaspoon chili powder 1/4 teaspoon ground red pepper 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin 1/8 teaspoon salt 4 ears shucked corn Cooking spray Prepare grill. Combine mayonnaise and juice in a small bowl. Combine cheese and next 4 ingredients (through salt) in another small bowl. Place corn on a grill rack coated with cooking spray. Grill corn 12 minutes or until tender, turning frequently. Remove corn from grill; brush with mayonnaise mixture, and sprinkle with cheese mixture. Serve immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
366 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
We really loved this recipe. I used parmesan cheese and we had it with, Quick and Easy Grilled Potatoes and Honey Ginger Grilled Salmon...what a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKER04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
You can't go wrong with this recipe! After grilling to a light/medium char: I omitted the butter, brushed on some low fat mayo, rolled it in grated pecorino romano cheese (nice and tangy), dashed some chili powder on it and finished it with a squeeze of lime. SO GOOD! This will definitely be on my 'Last Supper' menu...LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kvaldez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I live on the Mexico/U.S.A. border and there are many elote vendors here. The most delicious ones are grilled of course! Chili powder, however, is a must and is very common here. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frosm (Jazz)

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagle Pass, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This was awesome! I made it tonight for two hungry men and myself, and we all devoured it! I used ground Parmesan cheese and couldn't find the chili powder, but the dried red pepper flakes made it quite spicy enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Yum! Does sound quite different but everyone loved them. The lime part was about 50/50, some said it put it over the top, some said it ruined the corn, so serve the lime on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubbasracecar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
My brother has been eating corn like this for years since his neighbor who is Mexican introduced it to him. Since he's raved about it for years, i decided it was finally time for my family to give it a whirl. So, the result is that this is most likely the ONLY way we'll eat corn on the cob ever again! My 9 yr old son who despises mayo, ate his corn so fast, it was all over his face! When I told him there was mayo on it, he said he'll only eat it on corn. So delish, i can't even explain. Going to have to make sure all summer that I have Cojito cheese on hand! Can't wait to try it with our corn from the garden!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This is so crazy delish! I've made this about 10 times and love it. I've used every kind of cheese and seems like my family loves it with the shaved fresh parmesan cheese. The Cojita is great too. Lime is a MUST and brings all the flavors together. My new fav way to eat corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This recipe sounds so strange, but it is delicious. I even make it with boiled corn. I usually use parmasean cheese because I always have that on hand, and I never serve it with lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States