Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
My friend Lydia has made this for us before.... Try adding "Hot Salt" sounds weird but it is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Mmmmmm! This was sooo good! I'm not a fan of eating corn right off the cob, so I boiled the ears first, put them on the grill to get some char marks, and then cut the corn off the cob. I mixed the butter, mayo and some chili powder in a bowl, and then mixed the corn it. I then mixed in some parmesan. I know some people said parmesan wasn't good in it, but I used a high quality grated one and thought it was very good. I was testing out the recipe on my husband for possible use at a bbq this weekend, and this was definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
My corn was just ok. This is most likely due to the fact I did not have access to a grill and had to put them into the oven. I will only try this recipe again if I can use a grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADCOOKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Yummy! Just like I got in a Cuban restaurant in NYC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Wonderful! Used Mexican blend cheese because couldnt' find cojita, and I despise parmesan cheese. Other than than, followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I cooked a meal with several courses and this recipe was everyones' favorite. I used some of the variations suggested and it came out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
EXCELLENT!!!These were sooooo good. The entire family loved it. I did make changes. I did not use the grill. I baked in a covered dish for 25 minute on 350. mixed the mayo and butter together and spread on corn right after it came out of the oven. then sprinkled parmesean cheese (could not find cotija. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
i loved this as well as my family all did too. i did alter though and cut them into chunks put all ingredients except cotija cheese into ziplock bag mixed up poured onto cookie sheet then topped with cotija cheese and baked in the oven at 350 till cojita cheese was slightly golden edges. my 17 month old grandson couldnt get enough he ate the rest for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This was extremely well received by my entire family at a non conventional Christmas eve feast. I did make some slight changes though, by using 3 normal sized cans of white shoepeg corn, drained, and poured into a pyrex 8x10 baking dish. I used 1/2 cup of butter by cutting it up into pats and placing them on top of the corn and broiling it in the oven until some of the kernels became brown. I then added about 1/2 cup "light" mayonnaise then squeezed in some lime juice and sprinkled on parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Different but really good. My family loved this side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States