Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This is very similar to the elote i make, except i boil the corn. then spread the mayo, sprinkle queso fresco evenly, and drizzle a small amount of butter on top. For those in my family that love chili, i add some pico de gallo to theirs. That said, this recipe is great, the grilled corn really brings out the flavor and i will be making elote both ways from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
AMAZING!! Anytime we grill corn I always make this for me. I grew up eating these especially when we went to Mexico. Oh, this brings back memories. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yadikeith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Wonderful! I followed the top recommendations and did the following as the base recipe looked a little plain: Mixed 3 tbsp of mayo and 2 tsp of lemon juice in one bowl. Mixed in another bowl: 2 tbsp grated parmesan cheese, 1/2 tsp chili powder, 1/4 tsp ground red pepper, 1/4 tsp ground cumin and 1/8 tsp salt After grilling the 4 corns (shucked) until tender 10-15 minutes, I glazed the corn with the mayonnaise mixture, then sprinked the spices onto them. Note: I used some high quality chile powder for this and kind of eyeballed the measurements. So good! The most unique corn on the cob I've had. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I sprinkled on some chili powder and it was perfect. So easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justchrys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I thought this was good and the cotijo was salty, so no need to add salt. I think I will try to make it more melty next time. I had it where it was more liquefied...and really liked that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Made this tonight for the first time... the family loved it! picky eaters (girls, ages 9 and 13) ate 2 each! Used skwebsters suggestions and it was awesome! Plan to make it this Saturday for 100 people at a Surprise Party for a friend, should go well with the Carnitas, and other Mexican fare! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Hayward

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mongo, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This corn is AMAZING! I added a sprinkle of chili powder on mine and it was soo good! Oh, and instead of sprinkling the cheese on, after you put the butter/mayo on roll it in the cheese. even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
A few adjustments: I replaced the cojita cheese with grated parmesan, which is easier to find. I also thinned out the mayonnaise by adding the lime juice to it and seasoned it with salt and pepper. I made it a little healthier by cutting out the butter and sprinkling some cayenne pepper on the top of the cheese. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Great. I be careful if you add spice. A little goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Amazing! After vacationing in Mexico and being unable to find a vendor with this corn I had to make it when I returned home. I was apprehensive about the mayonnaise, but WOW! We sprinkled with cayenne pepper too! We will be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Grilled Bacon-Wrapped Corn on the Cob

Corn and bacon are grilled together in this perfect summer dish.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States