Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I have been making corn this way for years. For 6 servings, use 4 tbs mayonnaise, 2 tsp fresh lime juice, 1 tsp cumin and mix together. Roll the grilled corn in butter, then the mayonnaise mixture, sprinkle with Cotija cheese (do not use Parmesan as it is not the same nor authentic to the corn the street vendors serve in Mexico), sprinkle with McCormick's Mexican hot chili powder. Serve immediately ~ your taste buds will thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
488 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I love this recipe because I modified the following based on another recipe online: - Mixed in one bowl, 3 tbsp of mayonnaise and 2 tsp of lime juice to it. - Mixed in another bowl, 2 tbsp grated parmesan cheese, 1/2 tsp chili powder, 1/4 tsp ground red pepper, 1/4 tsp ground cumin and 1/8 tsp salt After grilling the 4 corns (shucked) until tender 10-15 minutes, I glazed the corn with the mayonnaise mixture, then sprinked the spices onto them. I recommend serving this meal with Black Bean Burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
470 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Caledon, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This recipe is only the starting point: I strongly suggest that you follow the recipe that SKHOUSTO shared in her review...it is definitely 5 star! It bears repeating: 3 tablespoons fat-free mayonnaise 2 teaspoons fresh lime juice 2 tablespoons finely grated Parmesan cheese 1/2 teaspoon chili powder 1/4 teaspoon ground red pepper 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin 1/8 teaspoon salt 4 ears shucked corn Cooking spray Prepare grill. Combine mayonnaise and juice in a small bowl. Combine cheese and next 4 ingredients (through salt) in another small bowl. Place corn on a grill rack coated with cooking spray. Grill corn 12 minutes or until tender, turning frequently. Remove corn from grill; brush with mayonnaise mixture, and sprinkle with cheese mixture. Serve immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
366 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This recipe works better with white corn. Plus, you need to soak it in water with the husk still on for about 30 minutes. After that, remove from water, cook until the husk is charred. Remove the husk for a juicy treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
In addition to the lime, and if you like hot food, most vendors add chile guajillo and a little salt. It's a chile power - Cayenne is an OK sub. This stuff is really excellent - almost addicting! Great side dish if you just use corn off the cob and have no time to grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I couldn't find cotija cheese so I used grated parmesan. It turned out great. I have also used this recipe with corn cut off the cob. It was very creamy and had a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
This is so good. Another variation is to grill the corn, spread with mayo,sprinkle grated parmesan cheese all over the corn and add a couple of dashes of Tabasco sauce, yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
i take the corn off the cob and put in a cup then add all ingredients,and mix together. they sell this corn like hotcakes here inthe summer. totally awesome. nice that i can make it home in the air,lol OH YEA DONT FORGET A LITTLE MEXICAN PEPPER IS MISSEN!!!! use one of the fruit pepper they sell its awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Sioux City, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Dakota City, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michellej
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
We will be grilling this alot this summer. So different and tasty! Don't be afraid of the mayo, It really is used as a binder. I can't wait to share this with my friends at our first barbeque this spring. This corn is going to knock their socks off!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I was a little scared to throw these on the grill w/out husks or foil but they cooked beautifully & we loved the charred flavor. I used low-fat mayo & I subbed fresh grated parmesan for the cotija. And I just mixed the melted butter up into the mayo & slathered it on. I forgot the lime though....that would have been a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States