Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I am so glad a reviewer posted how to make this cheese with parmesan because I couldn't find cotija in the grocery store. Mixed in one bowl, 3 tbsp of mayonnaise and 2 tsp of lime juice to it. - Mixed in another bowl, 2 tbsp grated parmesan cheese, 1/2 tsp chili powder, 1/4 tsp ground red pepper, 1/4 tsp ground cumin and 1/8 tsp salt. This was a perfect combo!! I served with chili-lime chicken kabobs found on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Love this. I was first introduced to this when I worked at a restaurant that had a lot of Mexican employees. They used Parmesan because that's what we had at the restaurant, and that's what I use because I always have some on hand... so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lara23NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saxapahaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Family loves this! Messy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happybelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I have been making corn this way for years. For 6 servings, use 4 tbs mayonnaise, 2 tsp fresh lime juice, 1 tsp cumin and mix together. Roll the grilled corn in butter, then the mayonnaise mixture, sprinkle with Cotija cheese (do not use Parmesan as it is not the same nor authentic to the corn the street vendors serve in Mexico), sprinkle with McCormick's Mexican hot chili powder. Serve immediately ~ your taste buds will thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
453 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I used frozen corn-on-th-cob which I boiled and added a couple of pinches of cayenne to the cheese. Everyone enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I am a big fan of Elote!! I was looking for a different way to make it. It wasn't as good as my original way. Sweet corn, you dont need butter. and instead of the wedges of lime which is NOT optional, you have to put a seasoning on it. Lemon Pepper, or Cayenne is MUCH better! Good for a different ingredient though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
If you are cooking the corn indoors, pre-heat the oven to 400ºF. For 4 cobs use the following directions - 1. Mix: 3 tbsp of mayonnaise and 2 tsp of lime juice 2. Mix in a Separate Bowl: 3 tbsp grated Parmesan, 1 tsp chili powder, 1/2 tsp ground red pepper, 1 tsp ground cumin and 1/2 tsp salt 3. Roll shucked corn in mayonnaise mixture and then sprinkle the spice mixture on top 4. Wrap each cob tightly in tin foil 5. Cook for 25-30 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
SUPER! I didn't have cotija cheese so I used Parmesan Cheese instead. Still incrediable & will make over & over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
At first glance, elote does not sound very appetizing at all to me... hmm corn on the cob with mayonnaise. But, my husband asked for it and ... not bad. I made it the first way and the husband liked it but he wanted something more. So, instead I just put butter spray all over the ear first. Then, instead of just mayonnaise, I mix mayonnaise with equal part of hot sauce. It gives it a great flavor (and kick). Cojita cheese is good on it. I have also made this with 3 blend Italian cheese, when that's what I had on hand, and once with cottage cheese. Very good. This is a different way instead of regular old boring corn-on-the-cob. Also, letting it flame over the fire is delicious. If you do not plan on cooking your corn over fire though, do not boil it instead. I know a fast trick! If your corn is thawed (if not, thaw it), wet a paper towel and ring it out. Wrap your shucked corn inside the paper towel, then microwave it on high for about 5 minutes (depending on your particular microwave. Mine used to take 5 but now it takes 6 or 7, so it really just depends). Your corn will taste just as good microwaved as it does boiled, it's just easier. I hope I helped someone out there. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarmensMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
It was good, but if you're serving a crowd that has never tried it before, it could be a major miss. My crowd didn't take to it like I had thought. However, when I got my picky guests to try it, they opened up and really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States