Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
O MAN! This is just like you get at mexican food stands, and sooo good. Sprinkle w/ cayenne for an added kick, but doesn't need it. For lower fat, use Mayo made w/ canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
really good and exciting way to eat corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn Horton
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I used a reviewers suggestions by adding in the cumin and chile powder. This was the best corn I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Horton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
So yummy! I expected to find this recipe using parm' instead of cotija(would've used cotija either way). Cotija's definitely better if you can find it in your local market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rude Nun

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Excellent dish even though I made some changes. I left out the mayo and sprinkled some chili powder on the corn for more flavor per other reviews. Also used grated parmesan cheese instead of the cotija.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I made this last night but I made a couple little changes and it was PERFECT! First, I shucked the corn then buttered it and wrapped in tin foil. Grilled for about 30 minutes, turning every 5 or so. Then, opened the foil and used a spatula to lightly coat with mayo, liberally sprinked with Cotija and then with Mexican Hot Chili Powder. Served right on the same tin foil with a slice of Lime, it was PERFECT! Amazing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKSNUMBER1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Loved this. I want more now for breakfast!! I mixed up the butter mayo and spices all in one bowl, sprad it on the hot corn and topped with the cotija cheese. Just the best. I didn't have acess to a grill so I cooked the corn on the stovetop for a few minutes.. bet it is even better grilled
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Love this! I do what another reviewer suggested and mix the mayo with lime and in a seperate bowl mix the cheese with chili powder, cumin and red pepper. then coat the corn after the mayo stuff has been rubbed on. I've also used the crumbly queso fresco cheese once when I could not find cojita cheese, which was even better I thought. Because it's a little messy, I cut the kernals off the cob and into a bowl and eat it that way. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Thank you for the recipe. We thought it was good and definitely fun to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saucymama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I've had this before about 10 years ago. I never knew what it was called and having moved from the state where I got it, have never seen it since! I'm currently 5 months pregnant and have been craving THIS and lucky for me I found it! It was JUST like how I remembered. IMO, I would leave out the parm cheese. I also add a dash of chili powder on the top just for an extra splash of color and a big pop in taste! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Erie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States