Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I lived in Chicago for years and missed the "elotes man" and his cart. So now I my own version of "Mexican Corn". But I do not do it with corn on the cob. I use a bag of fresh frozen corn, 2 Tablespoons butter, 1/4 mayo, parmasean cheese, and salt and pepper to taste. My family LOVES it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Very good! Who would have thought a few spices would make such a big difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDEGRAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Delicious!!!! My kids even liked it. The only tip I have is that you should grade the cotija cheese so it sticks to the corn easier. We will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Very, very good recipe for fresh corn! I had this twice at parties before deciding that I had to learn how to make it on my own :o) I did use other reviewers recommendations (the most popular ones) and used parmesan cheese just because I already had it and didn't want to buy the cotija cheese just for this recipe. So yummy! I'll use this one again many times. Thank you! Oh yeah, I did leave the corn in the husk after cleaning off the silks so I wouldn't have to worry about burning/charring it too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Almost always make our corn-on-the-cob like this! My brother-in-law won't eat it any other way! Can easily substitute parmesan or romano for the cotija & I set out a shaker of chile con limon. For a relative w/ dentures I just remove the ears of corn from the stalk & mix everything to gether in a bowl. Kind of addictive actually!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This is a good recipe-- I personally love Elotes. But if you want it to be authentic, use mayo con limon. This is what hispanics normally use. It adds a very light citrus twist to it. So this is how we make it in my home, cook the corn shucked, spread mayo con limon (mayonnaise with lime), roll in cotija cheese, and spread a little ketchup on it. That is how you normally see it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chulablanca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
We first learned about eating corn this way at a church fair. Now I have the exact, and simple directions. We so enjoyed it last night with the new bumper crop of corn this year!!!Thank you for sharing! ***Oh you don't have to use grilled corn, boiled/simmered works fine! The cheese is now found in most grocery stores, found ours at a Walmart Supercenter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Definitely will grill corn this way every time - I put the butter & mayo on before grilling - added spice mixture and then grilled - made a nice crust on the corn - big hit with everyone - the lime is a must at the end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullfrog270

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Made this tonight with a mexican feast for guests. They all LOVED it.......wish I made more!!!! Although I did forget the lime!!! Bet it's even better with it. Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigette aka Wine Snob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Nice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I agree on the cheese while one store might not have it it's not that hard to find. I found it this time at Sprouts last time at safeway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States