Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
You can't go wrong with this recipe! After grilling to a light/medium char: I omitted the butter, brushed on some low fat mayo, rolled it in grated pecorino romano cheese (nice and tangy), dashed some chili powder on it and finished it with a squeeze of lime. SO GOOD! This will definitely be on my 'Last Supper' menu...LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kvaldez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Great! Very genuine. I live on the Mexico/U.S.A. border and there are several "elote" vendors here. The most delicious ones are grilled of course! Chili powder, however, is a must and is very common here. Cumin powder added to the mayo makes it even closer to the south. Thanks for spreading the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frosm (Jazz)

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eagle Pass, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This was awesome! I made it tonight for two hungry men and myself, and we all devoured it! I used ground Parmesan cheese and couldn't find the chili powder, but the dried red pepper flakes made it quite spicy enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Yum! Does sound quite different but everyone loved them. The lime part was about 50/50, some said it put it over the top, some said it ruined the corn, so serve the lime on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubbasracecar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
My brother has been eating corn like this for years since his neighbor who is Mexican introduced it to him. Since he's raved about it for years, i decided it was finally time for my family to give it a whirl. So, the result is that this is most likely the ONLY way we'll eat corn on the cob ever again! My 9 yr old son who despises mayo, ate his corn so fast, it was all over his face! When I told him there was mayo on it, he said he'll only eat it on corn. So delish, i can't even explain. Going to have to make sure all summer that I have Cojito cheese on hand! Can't wait to try it with our corn from the garden!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This is so crazy delish! I've made this about 10 times and love it. I've used every kind of cheese and seems like my family loves it with the shaved fresh parmesan cheese. The Cojita is great too. Lime is a MUST and brings all the flavors together. My new fav way to eat corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This recipe sounds so strange, but it is delicious. I even make it with boiled corn. I usually use parmasean cheese because I always have that on hand, and I never serve it with lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This is surprisingly wonderful! It took a little coaxing to get my kids to try it, but they loved it. A perfect side to fajitas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Really fun to try something different for corn on the cob. I cut out the butter, used parmesan cheese, and just added lime juice to the mayonnaise. I think I would like it more with some of the spices that people suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
so happy to find recipe I just read it in a doctors mag while in the waiting room and couldn't remember one ingredient. I also added chilli pepper to sauce with mayo and butter then sprinled with parm cheese. A great tip for cooking coorn on the grill is to leave husks on then cook then when tender remove the husks easier and all hair comes off easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States