Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Excellent dish even though I made some changes. I left out the mayo and sprinkled some chili powder on the corn for more flavor per other reviews. Also used grated parmesan cheese instead of the cotija.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I made this last night but I made a couple little changes and it was PERFECT! First, I shucked the corn then buttered it and wrapped in tin foil. Grilled for about 30 minutes, turning every 5 or so. Then, opened the foil and used a spatula to lightly coat with mayo, liberally sprinked with Cotija and then with Mexican Hot Chili Powder. Served right on the same tin foil with a slice of Lime, it was PERFECT! Amazing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKSNUMBER1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Loved this. I want more now for breakfast!! I mixed up the butter mayo and spices all in one bowl, sprad it on the hot corn and topped with the cotija cheese. Just the best. I didn't have acess to a grill so I cooked the corn on the stovetop for a few minutes.. bet it is even better grilled
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Love this! I do what another reviewer suggested and mix the mayo with lime and in a seperate bowl mix the cheese with chili powder, cumin and red pepper. then coat the corn after the mayo stuff has been rubbed on. I've also used the crumbly queso fresco cheese once when I could not find cojita cheese, which was even better I thought. Because it's a little messy, I cut the kernals off the cob and into a bowl and eat it that way. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Thank you for the recipe. We thought it was good and definitely fun to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saucymama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I've had this before about 10 years ago. I never knew what it was called and having moved from the state where I got it, have never seen it since! I'm currently 5 months pregnant and have been craving THIS and lucky for me I found it! It was JUST like how I remembered. IMO, I would leave out the parm cheese. I also add a dash of chili powder on the top just for an extra splash of color and a big pop in taste! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Erie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
My friend Lydia has made this for us before.... Try adding "Hot Salt" sounds weird but it is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Mmmmmm! This was sooo good! I'm not a fan of eating corn right off the cob, so I boiled the ears first, put them on the grill to get some char marks, and then cut the corn off the cob. I mixed the butter, mayo and some chili powder in a bowl, and then mixed the corn it. I then mixed in some parmesan. I know some people said parmesan wasn't good in it, but I used a high quality grated one and thought it was very good. I was testing out the recipe on my husband for possible use at a bbq this weekend, and this was definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
My corn was just ok. This is most likely due to the fact I did not have access to a grill and had to put them into the oven. I will only try this recipe again if I can use a grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADCOOKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Yummy! Just like I got in a Cuban restaurant in NYC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States