Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
A few adjustments: I replaced the cojita cheese with grated parmesan, which is easier to find. I also thinned out the mayonnaise by adding the lime juice to it and seasoned it with salt and pepper. I made it a little healthier by cutting out the butter and sprinkling some cayenne pepper on the top of the cheese. Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Great. I be careful if you add spice. A little goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Amazing! After vacationing in Mexico and being unable to find a vendor with this corn I had to make it when I returned home. I was apprehensive about the mayonnaise, but WOW! We sprinkled with cayenne pepper too! We will be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
This was a great recipe, perfect for Cinco de Mayo! I found the cojita cheese at a wonderful Mexican grocery store, and I'll be back to shop there many more times, for sure. Thanks for turning me on to this yummy treat, LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Family loved this. Completely different than what we would usually have. My only recommendation is to make sure you get your corn when it is in season. Our corn wasn't the best. Will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Wright

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carl Junction, Missouri, USA
Living In: Jasper, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This is sooooooo so good! I've made this a few times, the only thing is I don't have a grill. I just buy frozen corn and boil it for 8 minutes then add the butter, mayo and roll it in the shredded cotija cheese. I also sprinkle it with chili powder and cayenne pepper. I agree with many other reviewers.. I will never go back to eating regular corn on the cob. The cotija cheese has such a great mellow flavor, I really can't imagine trying parmesan on here after trying the cotija. Don't be scared off by the mayo, if you spread it on lightly, just enought to bind the cheese, then you won't be able to taste it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZombieGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This was delicious. My family couldn't get enough. I didn't have cotija cheese so I substituted parmesean instead. DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I made this with frozen baged corn and it is now a favorite at my house! Will try on the cob in the summer time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by weeproductions

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This has become a summer staple with my family. Sometimes we eat it with cookout, sometimes by itself! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Texas, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I too was a little leary of using mayo but this turned out great. I made this with corn off the cob and used Mrs. Dash's extra spicy seasoning and shredded parmesan cheese. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States