Mexican Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
My family absolutely loved this recipe. I took other people's advice and used 1 can whole corn kernels and 1 can creamed corn. I also used only 1 cup of milk and traded jalapeno peppers in for the green chile peppers. I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
This is the first soup I ever made from this site where no one wanted the leftovers - it wasn't spicy at all, hardly any taste at all except for the corn - it was like eating a bowl of corn (too much) in chicken broth diluted with milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This is an easy,tasty & hearty soup that people rave about. I had to make soup for a church function & chose this one. I would definitely make this again & again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I followed the recipe to a t and found it to be a very thing chowder and lacking in flavor. I will try it again but definitely modify it with some peppers and creamed soup or creamed corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This soup was excellent. There are many ways to modify this recipe if you wanted to as well. My husband doesn't like carrots, so I skipped them...I served it with warm tortillas, and added a little shredded cheese on top of each bowl full. I usually have all these ingredients on hand, and it was SO EASY to make. We will definitely have this again...and again. I give this an A+++ !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
This was really good, but instead of fresh corn, I did one can of creamed corn and one drained can of kernel corn. I used veggie broth instead of chicken, and celery flakes instead of regular celery because that's what I had. I added some green pepper and did a full 6 oz. can of green chiles. I added a touch more oregano, and some chili powder and cayenne pepper. However, I only needed 1 cup of milk. I don't know if it was because I used the creamed corn, but 1 cup of milk was definitely enough. Overall, this was tasty, and I'm sure I will make it again. Went together quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
This one started smelling good long before it was finished, which is a good place to start! I added another cup of chicken stock, a green and red pepper, and a couple kicks of hot sauce as well as some cayanne which gave this dish a spicey jump. It's a good simple receipe if you're looking for something hot and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: White Salmon, Washington, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
this is an excellent recipe. the first time i made it i pretty much followed the recipe but the second time i; added 1 t cumin, 1/4 t chipote powder, used no fat 1/2 and 1/2 instead of milk and made a slurry of flour and water to thicken. it made a great recipe even better - spicier and thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This recipe was easy and great tasting. I pureed some of the cooked corn and veggies before adding the chicken and milk. This helped thicken it up with out adding more cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
This is a GREAT recipe. I substituted diced zucchini for the cooked chicken. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States