Mexican Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I just made my first batch and it smells so Yummy!! Only a few changes based upon what I had, 2 large chicken breasts, 2 cups fresh broth, 2 cups milk, 1 pack cream cheese, 1 large Jalepeno, handful of chopped cilantro, 4 carrots, IE: a whole Crock pot full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Cohenour

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Delicious - I didn't add celery, but added some green pepper, 2 cloves of garlic, cumin and fresh oregano. Used more milk with a little flour to thicken it up a bit as I wanted it to make a little extra. We really enjoyed this one and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
My favorite corn chowder! I'm addicted! I added a lot more chicken to make it heartier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBNewcomb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was great! I have been feeling under the weather and really wanted something to help make me feel better and clear my sinuses. THis was it and my 19 mo. old loved it as well. Served with some cornbread. Yummo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamBo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I really enjoyed this chowder. A good cold weather, rib sticking dish. I added flour to the sauteed veggies once they were softened and used homemade chicken stock to thicken the soup a bit. I forgot to add the milk. Still Yummy:) This went well with my grown up grilled cheese. Thankx Bushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This one didn't work for me. It was bland and the only thing that made it Mexican were the additions for serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This is really simple and really good... my definition of a 5 star recipe. There was another Mexican Corn Chowder recipe on this website that had a lot more reviews but it used half & half and 2 cups of cheese, so I chose this one instead because it's ingredients were healthier. I made a few changes: 1. omitted the celery 2. added about 1/4 cup green pepper when I sauteed the onions and carrots 3. used fresh oregano instead of dried b/c I had it on hand 4. added one can of creamed corn and used frozen corn kernels to make up the difference to get to the 3 1/2 cups 5. only used one cup of milk 6.I didn't have a chile pepper on hand, so I added some hot sauce and red pepper flakes to taste. Overall, this was a really great recipe. I laid out shredded cheese, diced red onion, tomatoes, and cilantro as toppers, and served with tortilla chips. I served it with a baked potato and it made the perfect dinner. I will definitely make this again. Update: I've made this again without the creamed corn alteration and I don't recommend that. The creamed corn helps thicken the soup. Otherwise take the other advice and use some flour to thicken. Overall, still versatile enough to doctor up to your preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This was great! I added 1 can of hominy to give it a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
I made this the night before and the flavor definitely improved after sitting overnight...I used one can of cream corn and a can of whole kernel corn. I added an extra carrot and diced up one medium sized potato. In addition, I doubled the garlic and used about one and a half cups of milk. I added red pepper flakes, cayenne pepper and some hot sauce (since I left out the green chile pepper). Okay recipe, easy to put together...probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
This is a really great way to use leftover chicken! It's not too hot, so if you like it hot add some hot sauce or cayenne. I used half and half the second time intsead of milk because I had it lying around... and I would advise against doing that. Stick with milk. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States