Mexican Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
The flavor of this cornbread is great, but like another reviewer noted, it came out really soggy, more like a corn casserole. I baked it for about 20 minutes longer than the recipe suggested, but it never got a true cornbread consistency. The flavor, however, was excellent. I will probably try again and see if I can cut back a little on the wet ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I made a pan of regular corn bread and this Mexican corn bread for a party recently. Everyone raved about the Mexican version. I didn't change a thing, and thought the outcome was great. I'll definitely make again to serve alongside chili and soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alowry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlinville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Everytime I make this recipe it is a big hit! I don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Thought this was a quite easy recipe, with the perfect amount of zing in it. I think I realized right after I had mixed the two bowls together what I may have done wrong...Are people not following the directions to a tee? The recipe says add the liquid mixture to the corn/onion mix 'until moistened'. Not, just throw it all in. I made the mistake already, so I cooked mine an extra 10 minutes. And I also didn't cut it for at least another 30-40 minutes after taking it out. It was still slightly mushy inside, but edible. Next time I will try following directions more closely. But everyone loved it nevertheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRENDALEE2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Just hot enough. I made it with chili and also brought a loaf to work. Everyone raved. It's so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This was very good. I couldn't stop eating it. I don't make it that much because I would weight about 500 pounds! The kids love it too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I don't know why someone would just give this 2 stars, I made it and it was great. I think the sourcream in the recipe really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I made this recipe the other night with chicken tortilla soup. It was wonderful. The only change I made was instead of creamed corn, I used a can of mexicorn. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Killer good cornbread. I will say that I slightly under-baked mine; not by choice, but by mistake, and it was still outrageously good. Next time I will bake it a little longer and let it cool slightly before trying to get it out of the pan. PS...theres enuf to share with the neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runzwitsizrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swisher, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Yum! I made these as muffins, and they turned out well. They had a nice, savory flavor, even without the jalapeno (I didn't have one). They were a little bit dry, but that might be because I cooked them a little too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Saint Clair, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States