Mexican Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This cornbread is not great. The flavor is good, but the texture isn't. I'm wondering if the recipe should call for 3 packages of mix? There's an awful lot of wet going on for 2. Thanks anyway! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Great recipe, no changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Sorry to all out there who love this. I didnt care for it. I changed a thing or two but not by much and it did not come out very well. Most likely my fault but I have dabbled with other recipies and they still turn out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This was just ok. Too moist and not enough corn flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This was very good. I couldn't stop eating it. I don't make it that much because I would weight about 500 pounds! The kids love it too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I didn't care too much for this corn bread nor did my family. I have made other types of mexican style corn bread that have been much better. But, having said this - - Because I didn't want to throw it away, I decided to use the cornbread as a base for mexican style taco lasagna. Ya know sort of like using polenta in an Italian lasagna in place of the noodles. I cooked some ground beef and seasoned it up with onions, peppers, taco seasoning, etc. I spread this over the cornbread which I halved horizontally, dotted with sour cream that I flavored with cilantro, covered with shredded cheese, enchilada sauce and continued the layers. It's fantastic. I've made this a few times already for my home and for potlucks with rave reviews each time. So even though I gave this cornbread 3 stars on its own, when I've used it as I've stated above, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FANTASKMANJAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
FABULOUS!! Modified it for some pick-y eaters, no onions and no chilies. It was still great great. Also used a bunt pan, made it a little fancier for a party. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very tasty and very popular at the Christmas party I brought it to. A little dry, hence the four stars, but worth playing around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkersburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Phenomenal. I just made this to go with a caldo de res recipe that I found on this site. I halved the recipe (I'm only cooking for my fiance and I) and used an 8 inch by 8 inch pan, and it came out amazing!!! I saw that it said "until just moistened" and then was worried because at that stage I had over a cup of wet ingredients left over. I wish I would have known how much left over I was going to have, I would have gotten another corn bread mix... Oh well, I'm happy and can't wait for him to come home for dinner! I also can't stop eating this. It has held together nicely and is very moist without being mushy. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
AWESOME corn bread! Everytime there is a potluck at work, I am requested to make this. A co-worker even asked me to make it for her for an event that she was going too. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States