Mexican Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
it is wonderful we love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This is my favorite base for cornbread. The "mushy" problem some people are having is due to the ounces of cornbread mix. This mix calls for 8.5 oz, which is hard to find. Most packages in Texas are 6 oz each, so I use 3 of those. I also add a can of drained sweet corn (sometimes Mexi-corn) and an extra 1/2 cup of sour cream. If you double the recipe for potluck, it fills up 2 disposable lasagna pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Recipe can easily be cut in half for a smaller family. Makes quite a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Unlike other reviewers I did not find this recipe to come out soggy at all. It came out very dense for me. However I did find it to be very bland. It seems to be missing something in the flavor department. Sugar maybe. I cant seem to put my finger on it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Awesome!! Has become a famliy favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
The best jalepno cornbread I've ever made. I leave out the onion and green chilies to make it a little more family friendly even my 6yr old granddaughter loves this recipe. I made this once for an office potluck luncheon and I'm not allowed to bring anything else anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Great recipe! I used 3 boxes of corn muffin mix - followed the rest of the recipe exactly, and it came out perfect! This is a keeper! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This is wonderful! I made it in muffin form and minus the canned green chilies because I didn't have any. I can only imagine how much more flavorful it would have been. I cooked the muffins for 35 minutes but will cook them a little longer next time. This needs just a sprinkle of salt, but other than that, they are perfect! I cut the recipe in half and filled each muffin tin full. It made 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
directions don't say, but use 2 bowls - one for the cornbread packaged mix and onions, and another for the 'wet' ingredients which you add slowly till right consistency. i used 3 each 6 oz pouches of the cornkit brand mix (i don't like sweet cornbread) and the ratio of wet/dry was perfect - Only change i'd make next time is to ADD SALT and PEPPER. it was moist and delish and went perfect with my homemade chili but it begged for a little salt and pepper! i will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I thought this recipe was just ok. I thought for the amount of ingredients that were in the recipe it was bland. I also thought the texture was kind of doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States