Mexican Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
The flavor of this cornbread is great, but like another reviewer noted, it came out really soggy, more like a corn casserole. I baked it for about 20 minutes longer than the recipe suggested, but it never got a true cornbread consistency. The flavor, however, was excellent. I will probably try again and see if I can cut back a little on the wet ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I made a pan of regular corn bread and this Mexican corn bread for a party recently. Everyone raved about the Mexican version. I didn't change a thing, and thought the outcome was great. I'll definitely make again to serve alongside chili and soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alowry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlinville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Everytime I make this recipe it is a big hit! I don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Thought this was a quite easy recipe, with the perfect amount of zing in it. I think I realized right after I had mixed the two bowls together what I may have done wrong...Are people not following the directions to a tee? The recipe says add the liquid mixture to the corn/onion mix 'until moistened'. Not, just throw it all in. I made the mistake already, so I cooked mine an extra 10 minutes. And I also didn't cut it for at least another 30-40 minutes after taking it out. It was still slightly mushy inside, but edible. Next time I will try following directions more closely. But everyone loved it nevertheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRENDALEE2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Just hot enough. I made it with chili and also brought a loaf to work. Everyone raved. It's so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This was very good. I couldn't stop eating it. I don't make it that much because I would weight about 500 pounds! The kids love it too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I don't know why someone would just give this 2 stars, I made it and it was great. I think the sourcream in the recipe really makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I made this recipe the other night with chicken tortilla soup. It was wonderful. The only change I made was instead of creamed corn, I used a can of mexicorn. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Killer good cornbread. I will say that I slightly under-baked mine; not by choice, but by mistake, and it was still outrageously good. Next time I will bake it a little longer and let it cool slightly before trying to get it out of the pan. PS...theres enuf to share with the neighbors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runzwitsizrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swisher, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Yum! I made these as muffins, and they turned out well. They had a nice, savory flavor, even without the jalapeno (I didn't have one). They were a little bit dry, but that might be because I cooked them a little too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Saint Clair, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States