Mexican Chocolate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I hit it out of the ball park with this recipe! Followed it for the most part, but did make a few tweaks due to living in Austria. I used tomatoes w/chilies (added some roasted garlic), left out the onion (preference used 1 TBLS of onion powder instead), 2 cans kidney beans (couldn't find black beans) - didn't rinse because we like a little of the juice the beans are in, used Mexican chocolate(has a hint of cinnamon) and seasoned the meat w/a homemade hot taco seasoning. I heated the tomatoes & chilies, chocolate and spices together before putting them in the pot (to ensure they were blended well) just to boiling then poured the mix over the meat and vegetables. I added a little extra chili powder, cumin and some chopped jalapenos for extra flavor. The end result was amazing! Served with warm tortillas and a choice of sour cream or a jalapeno cheese sauce as a topping (my husband had both). This is most definitely a great recipe and well worth fixing again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I started adding chocolate a few years ago with my chili recipe - my family and friends love it - they were surprised when I told them I add 1/2 of pure cocoa to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
My chocolate chili includes ground turkey and abuelita, a whole block of the hot cinnamon chocolate, also, you may want to try adding cinnamon,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morrilton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
one of my favorite chili recipes yet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New London, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Fantastic recipe! Haven't made this for a year now. The winter hits and my kids are begging for me to make it again. Given that they remember it a year later, I would have to give it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This is a great recipe. It is the first chili I ever cooked. I added some different items to it but customizing a recipe is what makes it yours when you cook it. I will be cooking some chili this winter. Thanks for sharing your moms recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grillmaster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I hate to give any recipe such an awful rating but this chili was just not for me. It was much too sweet and really lacked any flavor. In the end I put about 5 total TSB of Chili powder and 1 1/2 TBS of Cumin. Sorry for the bad review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irishblue82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This was tasty. The only change I made was to use ground turkey breast. I wasn't able to eat this until a couple of days after I made it.. I always wait a day for chili anyway. The flavors had mellowed a lot so next time I would up the seasonings even more than I already did. And I wouldn't use kidney beans, but rather another bean.. that is my issue though not the recipe's.. I just like other beans better than kidneys
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Didn't add any water, used a 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes, some red wine and a Coronita. Didn't put in the corn. I also cut up a hot pepper and sauteed it with the beef. Used cut up dark chocolate instead of the semisweet. Combined with Mexican Mole Poblano recipe. Came out a bit bland but has potential, just needs a bit more flavor. Woudn't use the coronita again, gave it too much of a wang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I was really skeptical at first, but this chili had very good flavor. I used 1 tablespoon of chili powder, because I like spice. I eliminated the water, because I felt their was enough liquid with the 2 cans of diced tomatoes and I did not add the salt. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States