Mexican Chocolate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Didn't add any water, used a 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes, some red wine and a Coronita. Didn't put in the corn. I also cut up a hot pepper and sauteed it with the beef. Used cut up dark chocolate instead of the semisweet. Combined with Mexican Mole Poblano recipe. Came out a bit bland but has potential, just needs a bit more flavor. Woudn't use the coronita again, gave it too much of a wang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I was really skeptical at first, but this chili had very good flavor. I used 1 tablespoon of chili powder, because I like spice. I eliminated the water, because I felt their was enough liquid with the 2 cans of diced tomatoes and I did not add the salt. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This was very good. The chocolate added a nice flavor. Like another, I added about a half cup of dark chocolate chips, extra chili powder and cumin and also added red pepper flakes for some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This is a great chili!!! A nice change from another recipe I use. We too like things a bit spicy, so I added a small can of diced ortega chilies, along with a bit more seasonings. Next time, I want to add a bit more chocolate....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was not really chili to us, not too hearty. More like taco soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixie33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by catastrophiccook
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I love this recipe! I've made it a couple times. I don't change things because there's anything wrong with the original; it's great exactly as listed. A couple things I've done based on my supplies/people's preferences that have worked are: omitted corn once and tasted fine; usually add more chili powder (at least double the amount) b/c I like chili flavor, and I halve cumin b/c I think it's a strong flavor. Add closer to 1/2 cup chocolate chips; it is still subtle, but I just LOVE chocolate in anything. This is a great chili when you want a change of pace from regular chili. I made it today for a baby shower (double batch) and it was almost completely gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catastrophiccook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Did not care for the taste. If the chocolate was omited, it would probably make a good chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kippy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I have already made this dish twice and everyone loves it! The second time I made it I added a little more chili powder and a little more cumin. Other than that...it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mount Morris, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Good, but not exceptional...pretty easy to fix though and everyone was satisfied here...just not an absolute keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
My husband and I loved this chili! It was even better the next day. It could use a few more spices to kick it up a notch. But that easy to fix. We will definitely be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States