Mexican Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Very moist cake, love the taste. In order to get sour milk take 1 tablespoon of vinegar or lemon juice and a cup of milk or the amount of milk needed for the recipe. 30 mins was just the right amount of time for this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
cool
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Henderson, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
How do you make that awesome looking icing? I will be making this cake this weekend and would LOVE to have that icing on it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I used DreamySweets suggestion for putting this together. Made her frosting recipe. I added about 1 tsp cinnamon to the frosting too. Such a moist flavorful cake. Amazing! Oh I made it in the bundt cake pan. Baked at 325 for about 40 min then up to 375 for an addditional 15 minutes. I think at 350 it would have been done in 40-45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union Springs, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Beware of the pan size stated. When I tried to scale down the recipe I noticed that the pan size doesn't change; big problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Great cake. I love the cinnamon flavor but also disolved a rounded teaspoon of instant coffee in hot water and added that as well. I find coffee and cinnamon both compliment chocolate very well. I also topped it with a caramel sauce made from scratch. It was a hit. My son has requested it for his birthday. Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marilee page

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
With the exception of the cinnamon, and the addition of a 1/2 tsp. salt, this recipe is a mirror image of my mother's buttermilk brownie recipe. I followed reviewer dreamysweets' directions and used their frosting recipe, and when I tasted the cake, I knew immediately it was my mom's buttermilk brownies. Great recipe, and thanks for the great tips, dreamysweets! Oh, and I baked it in a 13 x 9, and it took, at 350 degrees, about 45 minutes to bake, testing every five minutes after 30 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Creston, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is wonderful, husband loved it! I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I really enjoyed this cake. Like a lot of posters, I used OJ, and bummped up the cinnamon. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I read through several of the other reviews and took a few tips from them (coffee instead of water, extra cinnamon) and I cut down the vegetable oil (1/3 cup instead of 1/2) and the cake came out moist and delicious. I didn't have any trouble with getting it out of the pan, the way some other reviewers mentioned. I would definitely make this cake again. Though it was not "chocolatey" enough for my husband (I tried explaining that was on purpose but he didn't seem to get it) I really like the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, New York, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States