Mexican Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2000
Everyone in my office loved it. Good with chocolate icing. Can also be made in 2 9" round pans(bake about 22 min). Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
This is a great cake. I also used fresh orange juice instead of sour milk. The cinnamon is the perfect touch. It is not your typical cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
A very moist cake! I iced it with a whipped cream topping and it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
a yummy change from typical American chocolate cake...easy to make, and moist enough without frosting..a hit at our church dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This cake was great. I halved the recipe and made it in a 9x11 pan. I put chocolate icing on it and I used the OJ instead of sour milk. It was fantastic! :) Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
COOKGIRL is not easy to impress. But this is a very good cake recipe. I made a few revisions and modifications- for example:- I used regular milk instead of soured milk. Almond milk would make an interesting substitution....? Brown sugar and cane sugar in equal amounts give this recipe a richer flavor than boring processed white sugar. Also, I added 1/8 tsp of ground cloves, 1/2 tsp. of ground cardamon, 1/2 tsp. of slightly crushed anise seeds to the mixture. The use of Mexican cocoa mix from the import store gave this cake a really spicy flavor in place of regular cocoa powder. (I made adjustments with the amount of sugar used.) After removing the cake from the oven, sprinkle with powdered sugar for an appealing presentation. This cake earns COOKGIRL'S seal of approval or an A++...take your pick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This cake is so easy to prepare. It has a wonderful flavor. I used 1/2 c. OJ for the milk like one reviewer suggested. Turned out SO GOOD! Everyone loved it. I did make a choc. buttercream frosting to put on top. A real thin layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This is a great recipe I reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup. It is a very moist cake.Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Awesome cake. This was my first attempt at ever making a cake and was told by family it was the most moist, best tasting homemade cake they had ever had. Its good with whipped cream on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This was my ultimate favorite cake when I was growing up; the recipe came from my Texan grandmother. But in her version, you mixed the flour and sugar in a large bowl, and then heated the margarine, oil, water, and cocoa in a saucepan on the stove. Melt the margarine and bring it to a boil, stir it up and then pour the mixture over the flour and sugar. Then add everything else (beat the eggs a bit before adding them). Bake in a rectangular cake pan. I almost always double the cinnamon because I like it a little stronger. Grandma's version also had a pour-over frosting: melt another stick of margarine and add one quarter cup of cocoa and 6 tablespoons of milk. When it boils and the margaine is melted, remove it from the heat and beat in as much powdered sugar as you can (recipe alled for "1 box", but I always used more), along with 1 tablespoon of vanilla. Pour over the warm cake. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States