Mexican Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This was my ultimate favorite cake when I was growing up; the recipe came from my Texan grandmother. But in her version, you mixed the flour and sugar in a large bowl, and then heated the margarine, oil, water, and cocoa in a saucepan on the stove. Melt the margarine and bring it to a boil, stir it up and then pour the mixture over the flour and sugar. Then add everything else (beat the eggs a bit before adding them). Bake in a rectangular cake pan. I almost always double the cinnamon because I like it a little stronger. Grandma's version also had a pour-over frosting: melt another stick of margarine and add one quarter cup of cocoa and 6 tablespoons of milk. When it boils and the margaine is melted, remove it from the heat and beat in as much powdered sugar as you can (recipe alled for "1 box", but I always used more), along with 1 tablespoon of vanilla. Pour over the warm cake. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
COOKGIRL is not easy to impress. But this is a very good cake recipe. I made a few revisions and modifications- for example:- I used regular milk instead of soured milk. Almond milk would make an interesting substitution....? Brown sugar and cane sugar in equal amounts give this recipe a richer flavor than boring processed white sugar. Also, I added 1/8 tsp of ground cloves, 1/2 tsp. of ground cardamon, 1/2 tsp. of slightly crushed anise seeds to the mixture. The use of Mexican cocoa mix from the import store gave this cake a really spicy flavor in place of regular cocoa powder. (I made adjustments with the amount of sugar used.) After removing the cake from the oven, sprinkle with powdered sugar for an appealing presentation. This cake earns COOKGIRL'S seal of approval or an A++...take your pick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This cake is so easy to prepare. It has a wonderful flavor. I used 1/2 c. OJ for the milk like one reviewer suggested. Turned out SO GOOD! Everyone loved it. I did make a choc. buttercream frosting to put on top. A real thin layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Oh my G*d yes! A few changes though: I used pineapple/orange juice instead of the milk and added about 1 tsp. chipotle chili powder. Butter not margarine. Also 1/4 cup tequila as part of the water. I used the coffee/cinnamon frosting others recommended but with espresso powder. I had people on low carb diets begging for pieces to take home. This is a keeper--I sent this recipe to my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delavan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
I've made it three times but I've added to the recipe because the first time I couldn't taste the cinnamon. I also added Kahlua in the recipe and to the chocolate fudge icing I used. Then, I dipped strawberries in the icing and decorated the cake. A huge hit!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
This is a great cake. I also used fresh orange juice instead of sour milk. The cinnamon is the perfect touch. It is not your typical cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2000
Everyone in my office loved it. Good with chocolate icing. Can also be made in 2 9" round pans(bake about 22 min). Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
This recipe was a flop. I used hard margarine and this does not work, it should be specified as soft margarine in the recipe if that works. I have never mixed margarine with the liquid, but rather sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Awesome cake. This was my first attempt at ever making a cake and was told by family it was the most moist, best tasting homemade cake they had ever had. Its good with whipped cream on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Very moist, nice not-too-sweet flavor. We did change a few things, of course. Used butter instead of margarine, and I used 1/2 c. of milk with vinegar in it for the sour milk. Instead of adding a cup of water, I used 1/3 c. water and about 2/3 c. strong brewed coffee. I did add a little extra cocoa. I had a little trouble getting it out of the pans, I used round cake pans, so maybe next time I'll follow directions to use a 12x18. I'll be making this again and again, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States