Mexican Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Great cake recipe. For a bit of difference I substituted half the cup of water with marmalade and added a cup of dried cranberries. The cake turned out brilliantly with a hint of citrus to match the cinnamon. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This cake is delicious! I used a melted cocoa icing and poured it over top! My family ate every crumb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
As an addendum to me first review, when I doubled this recipe, I replaced the veg oil with applesauce and used butter instead of margarine. I also used plain milk. The cakes took about 45 minutes to bake under this condition, but are no less delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
While the cake was tasty and moist, it was very difficult to remove from the pan. Rather than greasing and flouring the pan it should be lined with parchment if the layers are to be removed. Mine fell apart while taking it out of the pan. A little disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This cake is awesome! I used vanilla frosting in the middle and chocolate frosting on the outside - it got rave reviews at a recent Fiesta birthday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I like this because it is moist enough you don't need any frosting! I took this to work on Cinco De Mayo to serve to the residets. One of the staff members (a Mexican woman) just had to have the recipe. I forgot and she kept asking me for it. Finally I went into the office and used the computer to get her the recipe. She says her family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I love to bake and this is truly the most moist chocolate cake I have ever made. All my friends raved about it. I did not have sour milk so I used a mixture of full fat milk and sour cream which worked fine. I put the mix in two round tins and iced it with dark chocolate fudge icing. I am going to try it without the cinnamon for a chocolate fudge cake. I will definitely be using this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Very tasty. I had a very hard time getting it out of the pans though. Both parts of the cake broke in half as I was trying to get them out. Maybe I should have floured the pans first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss28

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This was light, moist and delicious. I also replaced the sour milk with orange juice and it came out perfectly. I halved the recipe and made it in one round 9" tin and baked for 20 mins in the oven. The cake mixture was so liquid going into the tin and so thin when it came out of the oven I was a bit worried - but it was perfect. That's how it is supposed to be. A thin layer of frosting on top added and extra bit of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Very tasty. Normally I don't change a recipe the first time I make it, but I kept tasting the batter and wanting it to be spicier so I added a bit of cayenne pepper and ground anise and also doubled the cinnamon. I also used only 1/2 of the cocoa power and 1/4 c mexican chocolate and 1 cup brown sugar + 1 cup white rather than using all white sugar. I made a chocolate ganache with cinnamon and cayenne pepper to go on top. Very good. Keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Salas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States