Mexican Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Oh my gosh. This was sooooo moist and wonderful!!! I used unrefined sugar and coconut oil. I also added a whole bag of chocolate chips since I wasnt going to frost it (I didn't need to use the whole bag though cuz the cake itself was so good). Next time I make it I will top it with whip cream and crushed Heath bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Very moist, nice not-too-sweet flavor. We did change a few things, of course. Used butter instead of margarine, and I used 1/2 c. of milk with vinegar in it for the sour milk. Instead of adding a cup of water, I used 1/3 c. water and about 2/3 c. strong brewed coffee. I did add a little extra cocoa. I had a little trouble getting it out of the pans, I used round cake pans, so maybe next time I'll follow directions to use a 12x18. I'll be making this again and again, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Needs salt. I subbed the milk for OJ as others had suggested. I also use butter not margarine. I put into two 9" pans and had to bake for about 43 minutes. Much longer than I ever have had to for a cake like this, but towards the end of baking it is perfect! Can't wait to have it! I will fill with a chocolate butter cream that I added cinnamon to and topped with a chocolate ganache....should be beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Nice and moist! This recipe is great, I doubled the cinnamon because we love cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly...twice...and both times this cake completely fell apart when it came out of the oven. I don't understand what went wrong. I want to like this recipe very badly, so I may try again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
My family loved this cake. It was was moist and fluffy. Exceptional, but next time, I would put some sort of icing on the cake. but otherwise, I will definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatureGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrscallietea
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Easy and delicious! Followed dreamysweets variatiion, loved the pour on frosting. Decorated with strawberries to set it off ( the first time) The second time, I decided not to use strawberries since even thought beautiful, they don't really tie in with the cake flavors to me. Very moist and rich. I reduced the white sugar by 1/2 cup and rplcd it with brown, also, added a dash of nutmeg. Oh, and I used a bundt pan, which increased the cook time by 15 minutes, and greased and "floured " it with chocolate powder. GREAT! Thanks..this ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrscallietea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mae
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I followed dreamysweets alterations. This was the first cake i have ever made from scratch. I made it for my daughters 1st birthday and added buttercream frosting and thin sliced strawberries. I even got compliments from the pastry chef at the party. So moist and so good. Will never make a different recipes. THanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
excellent recipe. moist cake. after reading reviews, used 1/2 cup tequilla, 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup orange juice as the 'liquid' ingredients along with the butter and vanilla. my only problem is that the cake 'stuck' really bad to both of the 9/9 pans, and they were two different brands. Remedy: lots of icing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This cake was just as moist as the description and the reviews promised. As some reviewers recommended, I used OJ in place of the sour milk and used 1/4 c. tequila and 3/4 c. water in place of the 1 c. water. At least doubling the amount of cinnamon is a must. I might even put more in next time. I also added a couple hand fulls of semi-sweet chocolate chips, which gave the cake some yummy texture. Great cake recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States