Mexican Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
An excellent, moist chocolate cake...I used half white sugar, half brown, doubled the cinnamon and used a cup of coffee instead of a cup of water. I frosted it with the chocolate cookie buttercream frosting from this website. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Good texture. I used coffee instead of water (almost always do with chocolate cake) Covered it with chocolate ganache and served it at our staff bbq with great results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRocket

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Oh my gosh. This was sooooo moist and wonderful!!! I used unrefined sugar and coconut oil. I also added a whole bag of chocolate chips since I wasnt going to frost it (I didn't need to use the whole bag though cuz the cake itself was so good). Next time I make it I will top it with whip cream and crushed Heath bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Very moist, nice not-too-sweet flavor. We did change a few things, of course. Used butter instead of margarine, and I used 1/2 c. of milk with vinegar in it for the sour milk. Instead of adding a cup of water, I used 1/3 c. water and about 2/3 c. strong brewed coffee. I did add a little extra cocoa. I had a little trouble getting it out of the pans, I used round cake pans, so maybe next time I'll follow directions to use a 12x18. I'll be making this again and again, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Needs salt. I subbed the milk for OJ as others had suggested. I also use butter not margarine. I put into two 9" pans and had to bake for about 43 minutes. Much longer than I ever have had to for a cake like this, but towards the end of baking it is perfect! Can't wait to have it! I will fill with a chocolate butter cream that I added cinnamon to and topped with a chocolate ganache....should be beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Nice and moist! This recipe is great, I doubled the cinnamon because we love cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly...twice...and both times this cake completely fell apart when it came out of the oven. I don't understand what went wrong. I want to like this recipe very badly, so I may try again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
My family loved this cake. It was was moist and fluffy. Exceptional, but next time, I would put some sort of icing on the cake. but otherwise, I will definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatureGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrscallietea
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Easy and delicious! Followed dreamysweets variatiion, loved the pour on frosting. Decorated with strawberries to set it off ( the first time) The second time, I decided not to use strawberries since even thought beautiful, they don't really tie in with the cake flavors to me. Very moist and rich. I reduced the white sugar by 1/2 cup and rplcd it with brown, also, added a dash of nutmeg. Oh, and I used a bundt pan, which increased the cook time by 15 minutes, and greased and "floured " it with chocolate powder. GREAT! Thanks..this ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrscallietea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mae
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I followed dreamysweets alterations. This was the first cake i have ever made from scratch. I made it for my daughters 1st birthday and added buttercream frosting and thin sliced strawberries. I even got compliments from the pastry chef at the party. So moist and so good. Will never make a different recipes. THanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States