Mexican Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
My family loved this cake. It was was moist and fluffy. Exceptional, but next time, I would put some sort of icing on the cake. but otherwise, I will definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatureGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrscallietea
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Easy and delicious! Followed dreamysweets variatiion, loved the pour on frosting. Decorated with strawberries to set it off ( the first time) The second time, I decided not to use strawberries since even thought beautiful, they don't really tie in with the cake flavors to me. Very moist and rich. I reduced the white sugar by 1/2 cup and rplcd it with brown, also, added a dash of nutmeg. Oh, and I used a bundt pan, which increased the cook time by 15 minutes, and greased and "floured " it with chocolate powder. GREAT! Thanks..this ones a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrscallietea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mae
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I followed dreamysweets alterations. This was the first cake i have ever made from scratch. I made it for my daughters 1st birthday and added buttercream frosting and thin sliced strawberries. I even got compliments from the pastry chef at the party. So moist and so good. Will never make a different recipes. THanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
excellent recipe. moist cake. after reading reviews, used 1/2 cup tequilla, 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup orange juice as the 'liquid' ingredients along with the butter and vanilla. my only problem is that the cake 'stuck' really bad to both of the 9/9 pans, and they were two different brands. Remedy: lots of icing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This cake was just as moist as the description and the reviews promised. As some reviewers recommended, I used OJ in place of the sour milk and used 1/4 c. tequila and 3/4 c. water in place of the 1 c. water. At least doubling the amount of cinnamon is a must. I might even put more in next time. I also added a couple hand fulls of semi-sweet chocolate chips, which gave the cake some yummy texture. Great cake recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by **Jude**
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Excelent!!! Light,fluffy, easy, different cake. I added pecans and was very good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **Jude**

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chihuahua, Chihuahua, Mexico
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Great cake recipe. For a bit of difference I substituted half the cup of water with marmalade and added a cup of dried cranberries. The cake turned out brilliantly with a hint of citrus to match the cinnamon. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This cake is delicious! I used a melted cocoa icing and poured it over top! My family ate every crumb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
As an addendum to me first review, when I doubled this recipe, I replaced the veg oil with applesauce and used butter instead of margarine. I also used plain milk. The cakes took about 45 minutes to bake under this condition, but are no less delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
While the cake was tasty and moist, it was very difficult to remove from the pan. Rather than greasing and flouring the pan it should be lined with parchment if the layers are to be removed. Mine fell apart while taking it out of the pan. A little disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States