Mexican Chicken and Tomatillo Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This is the best soup I have tasted! And to add my husband loves it(I'm not much of a cook). I dont use the tortilla strips but just have corn tortillas with it and add valentina or tapitillo sauce to spice it up. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I loved this! I needed a recipe for some tomatillos from my CSA and found this. I had some Baked Tostitos on hand, so I didn't make my own tortilla strips. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Easty to make. I made according to recipe, but think you could add other veggies, such as corn. This is a good recipe to start with, but I would make some changes if I make it again. Had not had sweet potatoes or tomatillos in soup before, would use both again. I fried my tortilla strips on the stovetop and sprinkled with salt & chilli powder - that made the soup for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wahpeton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Battle Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and it was WONDERFUL!! My husband loved even more than me... he asked me to keep it in the rotation :). It's uniquely flavorful and more than enough for a meal. Since I never used Tomatillos before I bought way too many. You only need 2 good sized ones for 2 cups. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Ohhhh My...this is SO tasty! We have a local Mexican Restaurant that makes everything from scratch, and everything we've tried there is so flavorful; my husband and I agreed that this soup tastes like something that would be served at that restaurant. I made this for lunch yesterday, and two bites into it, my husband said he wanted it again for lunch today. Update: Each time I make this now, I double it so that we can have leftovers. I fed this soup to a couple of Hispanic men, and they both enjoyed it so much that they took me up on my offer for refills, saying that it was "so delicious," and "tasted like cooking from home in Mexico." This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I had to re-review this. The more I eat it, the more I love it! I always add black beans to this, as per our taste. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I was a bit skeptical at first, but I had all of the ingredients on hand (minus the tomatillos) so I went for it. It was delicious! The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
We liked it; it was different. I tend to like a thicker stew, but it was a unique change of pace. Never had tomatillos before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermon, Maine, USA
Living In: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This soup was SO GOOD. We had it as our meal tonight and used leftovers from a whole chicken we cooked last week, instead of chicken breast. I have never cooked with some of these items before, but found this soup to be surprisingly delicious. I need to make some and put it in the freezer for winter time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casedilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States