Mexican Chicken and Black Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lauren N.
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Instead of baking the chicken, I cut it into strips and cooked it on the stovetop with just a little bit of olive oil until no longer pink, then stirred in half a pack of taco seasoning mix till the chicken was browned. To the salad, I added diced red onion and fresh cilantro. For the salsa, I used fresh pico de gallo- next time I will use more than 1/2 cup. Light and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
My family enjoyed this dish tonight. I used leftover chicken, heated it up on the stove with the tomato sauce and taco seasoning. We tossed the chicken with all the additional ingredients, not really measuring anything. We all added in black olives, my husband also added tobasco and ranch dressing to his. We all really liked this salad! A healthy, yummy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I cooked the chicken by boiling it (I needed chicken for 2 recipes) I put the chicken, tomato sauce, home make taco seasoning, and black beans into a skilled and then I added a can of corn. I just heated it all up, put it over spinach and served with sour cream and chips. My family loved it. I forgot to use cheese and salsa, but I bet it would have been even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Great healthy dinner. I cooked the chicken in the convection oven for 40 minutes and came out very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
kids liked this recipe, too! easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I LOVE Mexican food - all the flavors - and I'm always looking for a way to make it more healthy, so I was intrigued when I read this recipe. I followed the suggestion of cutting the chicken into strips and pan frying in a little bit of olive oil (instead of baking), mainly because I was hungry and didn't want to wait a half hour :) After it was lightly cooked thru, I also added a half a packet of hot taco seasoning (my husband and I like a little spice) and put in a little salsa in the skillet at the end after the chicken was browned to add a a little more moisture. (skipping the tomato sauce entirely) I used a salad base comprised of some baby spinach, leafy greens and fresh herbs, adding more fresh cilantro to it. I also added some diced onions and a half of a diced fresh tomato. After topping the salad with the chicken I topped with a little (jar) salsa, the black beans, sliced avocado and a sprinkling of 2% shredded cheese. I think adding sour cream would have (for me) spoiled this light, tasty and refreshing meal. It is great and I'll make it again for sure. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLRYTIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calhoun, Georgia, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cassie
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I took the suggestions and added fresh cilantro to the sauce. Choose pico de gallo rather than salsa. I think the taco seasoning & tomato sauce was a bit much and would probably cut back next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This is ok as written. Nothing special. Could use some tomatoes, cilantro, onion. Way too much sodium in this to be considered healthy eating. This contains a few days worth of sodium. To make it with less sodium, make your own taco seasoning, leaving out the salt and use low sodium beans. Frying the chicken even in olive oil does nothing to make the recipe any healthier. Has too many carbs for those trying to watch that part of their diet. It is tasty, of course, as written, just not healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
My wife loved this recipe and said that it puts her taco salad recipe to shame. Secretly, I had to agree. This is remarkably simple to make, but you wouldn't know it from the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This was a huge hit with the family. I added a small can of Mexican Corn to the meal. I decided to mix the black beans and corn in a bowl and microwave for a minute. I used a chunky salsa instead of a traditional salsa dip (I found it next to the chip dip in the fridge area of the store). I used mild everything, which was fine with the family, but I sprinkled chili powder on mine to spice it up a bit. I also cubed up the chicken on the salad. I love these types of recipes where you can personalize them up like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Branch, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Newton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States