Mexican Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
What a delicious recipe. My family absolutely loves it! For added zip, try adding one can of Rotel tomatoes in place of canned tomatoes. Great flavor! I serve it with Mexican cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
OH YA - this was the best dam soup i ever ate and i am a soup fan , never thought of cooking it from scratch but glad i did as you cant get this in a resturant - my girlfriend was amazed and i am a hero - follow directions to the letter and use mission style chips - everything blended together perfectly and as previous reviewer said i used corn bread from the local bakery awesome - will try another soup soon but this one is a keeper and will make for friends in a few days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
This was a good soup. I topped mine with cheese and crushed tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
We were in Los Cabos in October 2004 and I had Mexican soup that I went crazy for! Here it is! I can't believe it tastes exactly the same. The only difference (visual) was the avocado - I mash it and stir it into the soup - it gives it a green colour and a creamier texture. Thanks so much for this recipe - my family and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
This was great!!!! Soooo easy! I added mushrooms, corn, and used the mexican style diced tomatoes in a can. Other than that nothing else was added. My husband isint a soup lover, and he couldnt get enough. I'll for sure be doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This was EXCELLENT, my parents and 3 y.o. daughter loved it. Leftovers lasted only through the next day at lunchtime. Unfortuately, I wasn't able to get a decent avacado this time of year, so instead, I mounded some cooked white rice in the bottoms of the bowls and served the soup overtop of it. The only change I made to the recipe was to add a little cayenne pepper for some heat, also I used some pre-cooked chicken meat that I needed to use up so I just whisked the taco seasoning into the broth. Next time I make it, I am planning to sautee some garlic in with the onions and celery, and perhaps add a can of corn. Thanks for the awesome recipe Rilene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Wonderful soup. Instead of baking the chicken I boiled 3 large breasts and chopped them up and threw everything into the pot at the same time. I added 1 can of corn, 1 can of diced tomatoes (undrained) and a can of chopped green chilies. I omitted the water since I left the liquid in the tomatoes. The avacado really made this delicious. Thankx Rillene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
This is a great soup and totally satisfied a Mexican food craving! I halved the recipe and served it with a corn bread recipe from this site. I poached the chicken and used the cumin with some added chili pepper as I didn't have the taco seasoning. I also used canned diced tomatoes as someone else suggested (tomato and spicy red pepper)and this added some nice flavour. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
I really liked this recipie, I did switch some things up... I bought a whole rotissorie chicken (hot wing flavor, from King Soopers) and let that simmer w/ veg. in the broth for about 1/2 hr, 45 min... Skipped taco seasoning since the chix was already spicy then drained the solids from the broth, deboned the chix and ended up with the best chix soup for a cold I have ever had... since I was sick and just wanted some spicy broth I skipped the tomatos, cilantro (not a big fan anyhow), cheese and chips but next time I will for sure add them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I'm not really a soup person, but with the chips and cornbread solidifying this recipe, I thought it ended up pretty good. My husband thought it was great as well, and the leftovers taste as good as the original. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States