Mexican Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Loved this! Used some of costco's rotisserie chicken, homemade taco seasoning using previous poster's suggestion, and it came out great. The avocado on top was different and I liked it!! Didn't have tortilla chips...but did have a dallop of plain yogurt that cooled the heat of the taco seasoning perfectly. Excellent soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This soup was absolutely delicious! I am not a soup eater generally as there are few that I find good enough to want to eat, but this was great. I followed the recipe to a T. I have to say the addition of the cilantro is a must for this recipe and is the key ingredient, along with the avocado that makes this so delicious. Will make this very often for my Mexican husband (who loved it too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Covington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This soup is great - I added carrots, rice, and green chiles. This is a regular now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Had a soup like this at a local Mexican restaurant and loved it. This recipe is very similar. I did add a little rice to it which was in the restaurant version and makes it a little heartier. I routinely cook whole chickens in my crockpot and debone and freeze the meat, mostly to use in soups. I used a pack of that instread of chicken breasts. Although better with fresh ingredients, an easy thing to do is use Ro-tel diced tomatoes with chilies and cilantro. Everyone in the family loved this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I have made this recipe several times. It is very good! I do not change a thing about the recipe. The only thing is I do not believe it would feed 6 people. Maybe 4 tops for a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
excellent!! The only thing I did different was to use a rotisserie chicken...delicious, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
AWESOME!!!! I put corn it, kept out celery, and made sure I sauted lots of garlic and onions first before adding the UNCOOKED chicken to keep all the flavor in ----also, use Penzy's Chicken taco spice, yummy. GREAT with cheddar and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lanasmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
so easy and delicious. a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELYNED

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Sauteed vegetables - added 2 cloves garlic. Boiled chicken breasts in stock, sauteed vegetables and 1/2 of recipe for homemade taco seasoning added by other reviewer then shredded chicken. Added corn, black beans and 3 handfuls of cubed cheddar cheese last 10 minutes of cooking. Excellent! Easy to make and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This was not only super yummy but it was very quick to make, I added some corn to it and it turned out great. My kids ate it all up. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States