Mexican Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This was tastier than I expected. Even my kids loved it! Because I had some extra stuff on hand, I added carrots, garlic, Mexican oregano, and about 4 oz of rotini pasta. I'm sure it would have been just as good without the extras, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
YUM!!! This recipe was perfect, exactly how it was written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Excellent recipe just as it is. A squeeze of lime over the bowl when serving and it tastes just like the Sopa di Pollo at our local Mexican restaurant. Thanks so much--I've been looking for this one for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made this for my parents and they thought it was fantastic. We all had to have two helpings of this delicious recipe. I added black beans and corn to mine and instead of baking the chicken I sauteed it in a skillet with butter and added the packaged taco seasoning. Turned out better than I even expected. Makes for a great meal on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe to the letter with the exception of using my own taco seasoning instead of the store bought. I'm not much of an avacado fan but it's a must in this recipe. Next time I am going to double the recipe though. My hubby and grown son ate it like it was their last meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This was a delicious soup. My family loved it. I added black beans and corn to the soup which really added a lot of flavor and made it more hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
My extremely picky husband told me that this was in the top 5 meals I've ever made. A few changes: to cut down on the cooking time, I cut the chicken into strips and cooked in a skillet with the taco seasoning. Then I let it simmer in the soup for an hour (on accident, but it was extra tender). The last 15 minutes or so, I added a can of corn and a can of black beans (both drained) per another reviewer's suggestion. I served it with the hint of lime chips - amaaaazing! Don't forget the avocado - it makes all the difference. Making again tonight - tripling the recipe and using a whole chicken and extra avocado :) Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This was excellent. A little on the spicy side, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
FANTASTIC!!! Huge hit at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama2sinead

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Perfect for dinner on a cold, windy night. I doubled the recipe so I could leftovers and it turned out great. I added diced white potato and a can of whole kernel corn into the soup to make it a little more hearty. Instead of baking the chicken breast, I boiled a whole chicken in a separate pot, then shredded the breast meat and added it to the soup. I also cut off the leg quarters and let it simmer in the soup to cook through. We topped off the soup with some avocado and cilantro and had it with white rice. Bought cheese, but forgot to use it. Still turned out very good. Will use the cheese with the leftovers tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

This delicious soup takes a little time but is oh so worth it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States