Mexican Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This recipe is even great vegetarian style. Instead of tomatoes I used a can of diced green chilies and used my own seasonings instead of taco seasoning. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is a pretty good recipe for Chicken Soup. However, I have lived in Mexico for the past 18 years and there is one thing that ruins this soup for me. Two teaspoons of cumin!! I could accept a dash of cumin, but with 2 teaspoons of cumin, it tastes like cumin soup with chicken added. I do not understand the idea that all Mexican food has to have cumin in it. I made this soup and invited Mexican friends to try it. Nobody would eat it. Everything else (the avocado, tortilla chips, even the cheddar cheese) which are not commonly found in Mexican chicken soup would have been very acceptable, if not welcome additions. Just NOT the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I agree with one with one of the reviews sauté veggies than throw the rest in the pot and simmer for few hours . Cut the chicken in to 1 to 2 inch chunks and while your cooking stir occasionally . They will eventually fall apart and shred by them selfs .I would also let this smear about 2 hours no taco seasoning no big deal I had perfect pinch Cajun seasoning on hand worked out perfect. Yes if u have rice on hand ad to bowl poor soup over and enjoy .Family loved it daughter went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Oh my gosh!!!! Way better than our local Mexican Restaurant!!! I used a rotisserie chicken, added corn, used a can of fire roasted tomatoes instead of fresh. Our Mexican restaurant always serves it with a big bowl of rice, so I made my favorite which is from this site, "best Spanish rice". It is amazing! My husband who doesn't even eat soup, gobbled it up!!! Don't leave out the avocado it makes the soup!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I love the base of this soup !!I cook my chicken in oil and taco seasoning on the stove top in small (easy to cut up) pieces,,, I add black beans and corn !! Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy's Kitchen
Home Town: Wintersville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Added mushrooms (at beginning with onions and celery) and a can of undrained mexican corn (at the end with the tomatoes and cilantra). Omitted the cup of water and swapped out the fresh tomatoes for a can of Rotel (green chiles one). Also used pre-made rotesserie chicken as it was easier and a little quicker. Added the chicken in 15 minutes after letting the veggies simmer. By far the best soup I've ever tasted. I will make this again several times over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xorainxo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This is a good start but like most reviewers (not all) I changed it a fair bit. I seared the chicken in the taco seasoning first, and then let it simmer in the broth for a few hours. Added black beans and corn just before serving. Also used the taco seasoning recipe from this site. Delish. Served it for girls night out and everyone wanted the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Excellent. We added a can of McLintock's beans (Central California Coast piquito beans); a can of corn, and a chopped anaheim chile 10 minutes before completion, and it was top notch. Will become a staple in this kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I used this recipe as a guide and changed it a little to meet my own tastes. My husband and I loved it, plus we have plenty of left overs for lunches!. Thank you for making a recipe that isn't just cans of stuff put into the same pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States