Mexican Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Delicious! This is easily my new favorite soup! The cilantro and avocado make it zesty and refreshing. The only thing I did differently was I used bouillon cubes instead of broth and I added a can of black beans, I also added the cooked chicken directly to the sautéed onions and celery and added the taco mix at this point instead of while the chicken was baking. Don't know if it made any difference or not but this seem to make more sense to me to really get the flavor into the chicken. It was so good I almost felt like eating for breakfast this morning! Can't wait for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
It's a keeper. Used the broth from 2 boiled bone-in chicken breasts instead, otherwise followed the recipe to a T. Better make a double batch of this, it was gone in one sitting of 5. Who knew, but avocados are a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruzebra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This recipe is even great vegetarian style. Instead of tomatoes I used a can of diced green chilies and used my own seasonings instead of taco seasoning. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is a pretty good recipe for Chicken Soup. However, I have lived in Mexico for the past 18 years and there is one thing that ruins this soup for me. Two teaspoons of cumin!! I could accept a dash of cumin, but with 2 teaspoons of cumin, it tastes like cumin soup with chicken added. I do not understand the idea that all Mexican food has to have cumin in it. I made this soup and invited Mexican friends to try it. Nobody would eat it. Everything else (the avocado, tortilla chips, even the cheddar cheese) which are not commonly found in Mexican chicken soup would have been very acceptable, if not welcome additions. Just NOT the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I agree with one with one of the reviews sauté veggies than throw the rest in the pot and simmer for few hours . Cut the chicken in to 1 to 2 inch chunks and while your cooking stir occasionally . They will eventually fall apart and shred by them selfs .I would also let this smear about 2 hours no taco seasoning no big deal I had perfect pinch Cajun seasoning on hand worked out perfect. Yes if u have rice on hand ad to bowl poor soup over and enjoy .Family loved it daughter went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Oh my gosh!!!! Way better than our local Mexican Restaurant!!! I used a rotisserie chicken, added corn, used a can of fire roasted tomatoes instead of fresh. Our Mexican restaurant always serves it with a big bowl of rice, so I made my favorite which is from this site, "best Spanish rice". It is amazing! My husband who doesn't even eat soup, gobbled it up!!! Don't leave out the avocado it makes the soup!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I love the base of this soup !!I cook my chicken in oil and taco seasoning on the stove top in small (easy to cut up) pieces,,, I add black beans and corn !! Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy's Kitchen
Home Town: Wintersville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Added mushrooms (at beginning with onions and celery) and a can of undrained mexican corn (at the end with the tomatoes and cilantra). Omitted the cup of water and swapped out the fresh tomatoes for a can of Rotel (green chiles one). Also used pre-made rotesserie chicken as it was easier and a little quicker. Added the chicken in 15 minutes after letting the veggies simmer. By far the best soup I've ever tasted. I will make this again several times over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xorainxo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This is a good start but like most reviewers (not all) I changed it a fair bit. I seared the chicken in the taco seasoning first, and then let it simmer in the broth for a few hours. Added black beans and corn just before serving. Also used the taco seasoning recipe from this site. Delish. Served it for girls night out and everyone wanted the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States