Mexican Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Loved this! Made my own broth with chicken thighs. Layered the cheese and chips by putting 1 ladle of soup then the chips and cheese, then one more ladle of soup. Also used Rotel tomatoes with green chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
My husband wants me to make a double batch every weekend so we can eat it everyday. We absolutely LOVED it! I did add a couple sliced jalapenos to the onions and celery when I fried them up and also a can of rinsed and drained white hominy but even without those additions it would've been fantastic. Oh yeah, I used low sodium broth and my own homemade taco seasoning but that probably doesn't change the flavor that much. Also smooshed up the tomatoes since I don't like chunky tomatoes in my food, but that's just me :) Would HIGHLY recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I started following this recipe and then as I read the reviews began to tweak it as I went. I left out the celery, just didn't seem to mix with the other ingredients. Also left out the cumin. I used 2 cans of chopped tomatoes with green chile in them. I added a jalapeno, black beans and pinto beans (rinse and drained), can of corn (drained), 2 cups salsa, can of tomato soup and water and then added hot chicken sausage. I was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I love this recipe. It was a bit too thin so I added a can of corn, half a can of chili beans, a can of green enchilada sauce, and 1/4 cup of rice. It was five stars after my add-ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This was great! I used chicken breast tenders, but I didn't bake them, I broiled them, and then shredded it. I added extra celery, cilantro, and onion (because I really like them), and bought extra avocados. You have to have the avocado! I didn't have any taco seasoning, but I did have Tinga seasoning. It's in the same section as the taco mix, but it's for chicken. It has a smokey, chipotle like flavor. Very good. The only thing I would change is using reduced sodium chicken broth. It was a bit too salty for my taste, but had no complaints for the bf. I'll be making this again! Yummmm!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This is a fast, tasty soup that can be enjoyed by all and cooked quickly and with simple staple ingredients found in most kitchens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Delicious!! I also added some black beans, corn, and used canned tomatoes instead of fresh. I didn't bother with the cheese. This soup didn't need it. Will definitely make this again!! Franscooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Delicious! This is easily my new favorite soup! The cilantro and avocado make it zesty and refreshing. The only thing I did differently was I used bouillon cubes instead of broth and I added a can of black beans, I also added the cooked chicken directly to the sautéed onions and celery and added the taco mix at this point instead of while the chicken was baking. Don't know if it made any difference or not but this seem to make more sense to me to really get the flavor into the chicken. It was so good I almost felt like eating for breakfast this morning! Can't wait for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
It's a keeper. Used the broth from 2 boiled bone-in chicken breasts instead, otherwise followed the recipe to a T. Better make a double batch of this, it was gone in one sitting of 5. Who knew, but avocados are a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruzebra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This recipe is even great vegetarian style. Instead of tomatoes I used a can of diced green chilies and used my own seasonings instead of taco seasoning. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States