Mexican Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Yummy. I added a can of black beans and some rice to make it more substantial for the kiddos. I had an OOPS MOMENT where I used cinnamon instead of cumin. Ack! Got both teaspoons in before I realized something was up. I scraped some out and still went ahead with the cumin, and you know what?… it was actually good. Discovered a new flavor combination - tasted Caribbean or something. Maybe I'll add a teaspoon of Cinnamon on purpose next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was ok, did reduce the cumin for personal taste. Did think it was a little bland but my wife loved it. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This soup was so easy to make and it tasted so good.The avocado was my favourite ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This is a very easy soup to make and soooo good. I followed one reviewer's advice and went easy on the ground cumin. I used all chicken broth (no water) and added corn and small pasta tubes. This is going into my regular Sunday soup rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Pretty tasty, chicken is yummy cooked this way! Maybe try corn, rice, beans add-ins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Good recipe; however, needed some things in order to become a meal. I cooked the chicken in a full pkg. of taco seasonings. I added a can tomatoes with chili's vs. the can of diced tomatoes. This gave the soup additional flavor, then added a can of tomato sauce, 2 cans of drained black beans, and 1 can of corn, drained. I, also, eliminated the can of water and only added 2 cans of chicken broth vs. 3. Next time I will only add 1 can of chicken broth for a thicker soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Made this for my family tonight. They loved it! I did double the recipe and added two 15 oz cans black beans, drained well, and One 15 oz can kernel corn.I did season the chicken with some taco mix and sauteed with cover on till chicken was cooked (30 minutes on low). I added the beans and corn when the chicken and tomatoes are added. I did simmer longer than 5 minutes after adding these items. And we added a squeeze of lime when serving. We skipped the tortilla chips because we are dieting but will try them when we are not. Healthy and delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I love this soup. Per other reviews I use Melissa hong kong's taco seasoning, Rotel mild tomatoes, and add a little frozen corn. I think it is the cumin that makes it so delicious. I double the recipe so we can enjoy it for several days. I am dieting and serve this with a little chopped avocado and skip the grated cheese and tortilla chips for a healthy, satisfying soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Delicious! I added to the recipe, just what I like to do. I added some frozen corn and a can of black beans and diced carrots. I added diced boneless skinless chicken breast to the soup raw let it come to a boil and simmer about 45 minutes at the very end like I usually do when making soups. Served it with shredded cheddar, sour cream and diced jarred jalapeno. Also, tortilla chips for dipping. It reminds me of fajitas. I did not use packaged taco seasoning but just added cumin, paprika, onion powder, chilli powder and diced garlic to taste. My whole family loved it! I will make this again and again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Comment from hubby " This could be the best soup I have ever eaten." This equals the same soup served at our local Mexican restaurant.Thank you. love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States