Mexican Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I used gound pork sausage and it was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
We love this soup. Prefer with out the cheese and tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
I have made this soup several times. This is a great recipe, but I had to have a more hearty and nutritionally balanced meal in a soup. I added black, pinto and kidney beans (I use dry beans, soaked overnight, and simmer them with the chicken, tomatoes, spices and water for an hour, but canned will work fine, too -- just be sure to drain and rinse well, then put them in the soup last ten minutes) and frozen corn in the last 15 minutes of simmering. I also boil a whole chicken with onion, salt and celery the night before, strain out the chunks, refrigerate broth, skim off fat next day, and use instead of canned broth (but breasts and canned broth works okay, too, just not as flavorful – I cut cooking time by microwaving the breasts in the canned broth instead of baking in oven, then strain broth before adding to pot). I use a large can of diced tomatoes in tomato juice, the homemade taco seasoning that was given in another review, and a cup of mild picante sauce. I crush Multi-Grain Toastitos and add with a dollop of fat-free sour cream and the avocado when serving. Fruit salad on lettuce leaves rounds it all out. Simply divine. My changes make a lot more soup for larger families or gatherings, since you will have more broth if made with a whole chicken and/or add more water with the beans and corn. Add more spices proportionally, too. Keeps well for a week in frig. Hubby then takes it to work every day and begs for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUDDYMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KENTIBUR
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This was so good and full of flavor! I poached the chicken in water with a little taco seasoning and then made some boil-in-bag rice in the same broth I cooked the chicken in. I also added garlic, the juice of a lime to the soup and used lime to garnish the soup as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KENTIBUR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurens, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
O.M.G.... JUST LIKE THE OTHERS THIS IS ABSOULUTELY QUICK AND DELICIOUS!! ADDED CAN OF PINTO BEANS ,CAYENNE PEPPER AND A CAN OF DICE CHILIES. WITH OR WITHOUT AVACADO &CORN CHIPS IT IS GREAT!!!!!!DID HAVE TO SEASON TO TASTE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I had some left over Mexican chicken, so I decided to make this soup. At first I wasn't going to put avocado in at the end like the recipe calls for, but decided to after all, boy was I glad I did, it was really good! I even added a little red cabbage to my soup. I also added my own Mexican seasoning instead of the pre-made kind. This soup is delicious. I ate 4 bowls, couldn't stop eating it! lol I love soup and I love this recipe, I will definitely make this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N. Twedell

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This was pretty simple and pretty delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
It is a good recipe but I had to add some things to make it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
The whole family loved it! I did have to add some more seasonings. I put Ms. Dash in everything, so maybe it was just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This was pretty good. I added a large clove of garlic and a fresh diced jalapeno. I also used a whole can of diced tomatoes. I ended up adding the whole rest of the taco seasoning packet as it wasn't spicy enough for us. I served it with shredded white cheddar cheese and crushed corn tortilla chips--the chips really make a big difference, and next time I might try chopping up some corn tortillas and letting them dissolve in the soup, or maybe adding some corn? I also might serve it with white rice next time or cornbread. It was a good soup, but something was "missing."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States