Mexican Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Excellent!!!! I added my own kiev recipe and wanted to try a few of the other since they were so different. this one is wonderful! it has a totally unique flavor but it very good. this goes down in my recipe book. I used pepperjack for extra kick. this could be the best recipe i've tried off allrecipies so far. try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Yum! This was super good. I read prior reviews regarding the cheese melting out. I left the chiles whole. I sliced off the top and put the cheese inside the chile, then wraped the chicken about the chile. I made sure the opening of the chile was closed off with the chicken and a toothpick. They came out perfect! I also had leftover chiles, so I used the same idea and put cheese in them, rolled in butter and bread crumbs and put in the oven with the chicken. It was a yummy side. This one is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
Everyone loved this recipe Erin! When making this, don't make the same mistake I did and pound the chicken so hard that you make holes in it. Dopey me! The thickness of the cheese made the chicken a little difficult to roll and encase the filling, so next time I think I'll shred the cheese and chop the pepper. During the last fifteen minutes of baking, I made a mixture of salsa and sour cream and poured it over the chicken. The pepper jack cheese I used added just the right amount of heat and the sauce smoothed it all out. Thanks so much Erin for a very different kind of Kiev!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
Yummy! The other recomendations for jalepeno and pepper jack cheese were right on! We were a bit concerned as to how hot the chicken was going to be when we were preparing it, but the heat was mellowed in the cooking process. We will add more pepper next time (we like spicy food). Also, ony used 1/2 the butter and it turned out just fine. We had a guest over and forgot to warn him of the toothpicks in the chicken. Nearly had a calamity...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
WOW! Great dish, Erin!. I used two thin slices of jalopena pepper jack to each breast. Since I wanted to serve a slightly fattening sauce with this, I cut the butter and simply sprayed each breaded breast with butter flavored Pam. My favorite sauce with a southwestern flair is 1/2 cup nonfat sour cream, 1 cup Caesar salad dressing (I use Gerards), 1 1/2t cumin and 2t Taco seasoning (also from this site). Serve the sauce on the side. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
This was really good but I substituted crushed tortilla chips instead of bread crumbs and omitted the parmesan too and cheddar cheese instead of jack because I like it better for more tang. I am going to try pepper jack next time. I top it with the chilis and some Roma tomatoes and onions too just at the last 5-10 min. of cooking. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
After reading other reviewers' suggestions, I decided to use thin cut chicken breast (to avoid the cheese spilling out. Additionally, I dipped each chicken breast in egg instead of butter and then coated them with the bread crumb/parmesan/seasoning mix. I put cheese on the inside of the fold w/ green chilies, and another on top. I didn't do any refrigeration and popped them in the oven at 400 for about 20 minutes covered in aluminum and another 20-25 with the cover off. I had none of the problems other reviews mentioned about cheese spilling out. Also, I added lots of southwest seasoning and parmesan to the coating and served w/ Spanish rice and refried beans (another excellent suggestion!). This turned out beautifully! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
OOOH so good!!! I love this and so does my family--- kids included. I didn't use cumin any time I have made this so far (didn't have) and still was just incredible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
The Mexican Chicken Kiev is really great. The chilies give it a little zip. It's a great dish to serve family and guests because it can all be prepared early in the day and put in the fridge. This is a keeper at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I really enjoyed this! Made it at the last minute because I saw it recommended on the RE, so I had to use chopped green chilies. I only made three breasts, which is MORE than enough for three of us, but I didn't change anything else. Very mild, but very very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States