Mexican Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
WOW! Great dish, Erin!. I used two thin slices of jalopena pepper jack to each breast. Since I wanted to serve a slightly fattening sauce with this, I cut the butter and simply sprayed each breaded breast with butter flavored Pam. My favorite sauce with a southwestern flair is 1/2 cup nonfat sour cream, 1 cup Caesar salad dressing (I use Gerards), 1 1/2t cumin and 2t Taco seasoning (also from this site). Serve the sauce on the side. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Wow. This is wonderful as is, but hardly worthy of being called Mexican. I followed the recipe with one exception, I used pepper jack cheese for a little more kick. I also used 1/2 of an Anaheim chile in each chicken breast. (They were large breasts.) I intend to do this one again with a couple more modifications. I am going to double the cumin and add 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne to the bread crumbs. Then I will call it Mexican.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toje

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fillmore, Utah, USA
Living In: Providence, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Excellent! I recommend more cheese in the middle, though, but my husband and love cheese! Might also be good with a little bit of cream cheese in the center, too. Great served with a salad and bread. Also, if you don't want to pound the chicken, try slicing it lengthwise and using the chicken breast like a pocket.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
OOOH so good!!! I love this and so does my family--- kids included. I didn't use cumin any time I have made this so far (didn't have) and still was just incredible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
Yummy! The other recomendations for jalepeno and pepper jack cheese were right on! We were a bit concerned as to how hot the chicken was going to be when we were preparing it, but the heat was mellowed in the cooking process. We will add more pepper next time (we like spicy food). Also, ony used 1/2 the butter and it turned out just fine. We had a guest over and forgot to warn him of the toothpicks in the chicken. Nearly had a calamity...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Excellent!!!! I added my own kiev recipe and wanted to try a few of the other since they were so different. this one is wonderful! it has a totally unique flavor but it very good. this goes down in my recipe book. I used pepperjack for extra kick. this could be the best recipe i've tried off allrecipies so far. try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
This was really good but I substituted crushed tortilla chips instead of bread crumbs and omitted the parmesan too and cheddar cheese instead of jack because I like it better for more tang. I am going to try pepper jack next time. I top it with the chilis and some Roma tomatoes and onions too just at the last 5-10 min. of cooking. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
After making jalapeno poppers today I still had some of the cream cheese/chedder cheese filling left over so I decided to look in All Recipes to see how I could use the leftovers. I found this recipe and it was awesome using the cream cheese/chedder cheese combination along with the green chiles. I like the fact you can prepare way ahead of dinner time and keep in the refrigerator until cooking time. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks, Erin, for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
This recipe is the BOMB!!!!! I love it. I used fresh roasted hatch new mexico green chili. I substituted the bread crumbs for crushed cracker crumbs and it was soooo good! We all love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
This is a great recipe. I used pepperjack cheese to spice it up a little more. It was great! We'll definitely be making this again. Thanks, Erin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States